Of Boo and Belle

My friend, Crystal Church, and her family in Hermleigh, Texas, have had to put down (tainted words, a flight away from what happens) their Australian Shepherd, Boo, and their thirty-year-old horse, Belle.  They will be buried together since the two of them hung out together, conversing through the fence for years.  Boo has had mini-strokes over the last few days and Belle cannot make it through the winter on the Rolling Plains, northwest of Sweetwater, Texas, with sharp wind and ice.  The veterinary has probably come out to their ranch already by the time I write this post and brought an end to the pain these two beautiful creatures have endured of late.

When I read my e-mail this morning, Crystal wrote me about this bad day and was there anything I could write or say to help?  There was nothing I could say or write, but I tried.  My friend, Caralee Woods of Kanab, Utah, once told me upon the death of her adopted dog-companion, Bruno:  He went away so as to make room for others.  That’s about the best that can be said of this bad day for Crystal and it does not ease the heart like seeing Boo and Belle, conversing through a west Texas fence, spirits smiling.

I’m not so sure that we are stronger in our broken places.

______________________________

Notes:

Crystal’s e-mail at Cisco College where she teaches speech is crystal.church@cisco.edu.

3:30 p.m. I just talked to Crystal and Boo and Belle are gone.  The vet came out at 2:00 p.m.

6 Comments

Filed under Life in Balance, Life Out of Balance

6 responses to “Of Boo and Belle

  1. Dear Jack,

    What a sad and difficult day for your friend and her fine companions. I just looked up and my eyes landed immediately on what this post is filed under: Life Out of Balance, Life in Balance. I’m not sure why, but it seems to be comforting. One foot in front of the other….until the pain lessens and life seems more in balance again.

    Teresa

    • Teresa,

      I use the phrase, “One foot in front of the other…” a lot. When I categorized the post as Life Out of Balance, Life in Balance, I could not (still can’t) figure if it is one or the other. I’m thinking now it is both.

      Jack

  2. Crystal

    You did help, Jack, by your support and words and deeds. I’m glad you got to meet Boo — he’s my once in a lifetime dog. And Belle was fiesty and had strong opinions on how her day should go. Our kind of horse! My dad and Belle competed in several cutting events, and she would try to hold the whole herd instead of just one calf. Go big or go home was her motto. We were blessed to have her for 30 years, and Boo for 12.

    Thanks again, Jack.
    Crystal

  3. Kittie Howard

    He went away so as to make room for others.

    I, too, don’t think there are any other words. So sad. There’s a hole in my heart.

Leave a comment