Rosemary and Star

IMG_3308Here in central Texas, Erath County, we remain in a drought.  Since Christmas, however, rain has fallen and we do not have to boil our water before drinking.  The date for near-complete water extinction has been extended into the future.  No specific date for extinction has been given, but the February 15th date for extinction is no longer in effect.

In the photograph above, I hold a rosemary blossom, indicative of moisture in the air and soil about the large rosemary bush on the west side of the ranch house.  The scent of rosemary lingers on my fingers as I type.  I use the rosemary for several recipes, but I favor its use when I prepare a sauce for steaks or lamb chops.

* * *

Before Christmas, my good horse Star died of colic.  The old boy was fourteen years old and in his becoming ill, the first veterinary I called to the ranch said he was a strong, stoical horse in that he did not lash out at us, his handlers.  Star was diagnosed at six in the evening and had to be put down at two o’clock the next morning at the Equine Sports Medicine and Surgery compound in Weatherford, Texas, where he was surrounded by three female veterinarians who took control and managed his passing.  Without being sentimental, I still look out my porch windows, even today, to see where Star is in the pasture.  Is he loafing under the mesquites?  I know he is not there, but I still look.

Star

Star Bars Moore will be just fine.

Star Bars Moore APHA 808164, loafing in arena pasture under mesquites.

Star Bars Moore APHA 808164, loafing in arena pasture under mesquites.

 

18 Comments

Filed under Life in Balance, Plants and Shrubs, Star

18 responses to “Rosemary and Star

  1. I’m sorry to read of your loss of Star … I can imagine it leaves a bit of an empty spot in the pasture and around the barn.

    • Yes, Star was the last sentient being associated with my family. That’s alright; it is what happens. I saw your post about the racoons and how your empathy sought their survival. They were, like Star, attended in their passing. Sad, nonetheless. I hope all is well with you.

  2. Jack, what a loss. I’ve followed and loved your stories about Star. I know the meadow there will be more empty with his absence. I think of you and your place there in the middle of the Texas drought. I’m happy to see the rosemary blooming and to think the ground isn’t parched today.

  3. I’m so sorry to hear of Star’s passing. I always enjoyed your tales of him, and enjoyed seeing the relationship between the two of you from afar.

    I am glad to see the rosemary blooming. We’ve had relatively good rains this spring. We could use more, of course, but I’d happily divert some in your direction.

    I thought of you recently. While I was doing research for a series on Indianola, I came across George Erath and thought, “OH! That’s Jack’s county!” Live and learn, as they say. I hope all’s well otherwise, and that you do get some rain, soon.

  4. I am sorry to read of your loss..What a beautiful horse!

    • Thank you, Mother Hen. I hope all is well with you and yours.

      • We are doing well and still adapting to Oregon..Lots of rain and water around here, although no sign of snow yet. I have begun to pay attention to wild horses that are getting round up and removed, hopefully relocated. It disturbs me to hear of the methods used..grr! Take care and don’t be a stranger over there at Sage to Meadow…

  5. I’m sorry about Star, Jack! I know how you will miss him.

  6. Anonymous

    Sorry to hear about the loss of Star. You have scribed a beautiful and worthy tribute to an old friend and now we all miss Star.

  7. Bill

    Looking back over your entries with Star, you can’t help but notice how many of them also deal with water. Just as water, Star seems to have been (be?) essential to how you make it through life. May Star’s memory quench your thirst for life.

  8. cisco kid

    I’m saddened. 😦
    They become like family…

  9. I’m terribly sorry to read about this Jack. It seems when we spend a lot of time with an animal friend their spirits become linked with ours. I know this from personal experience. Your memories of Star will be with you for the rest of your days. I can’t imagine of too much that would be more precious.

    • Yes, Bill, it is my memories of Star that will endure. My regret is that I did not catch his colic soon enough to stop it. But, I took care of him and my family loved to be around him.

Leave a Reply

