Olivetti and Flowers of Flying Hat (20-24)

Keyboard

When possible, I use a large keyboard, not the small letter touchpad of iPhone. Who can possibly compose substantially on an iPhone?  My hands are large, like a teamster’s.  Here is my keyboard (QWERTY) I have pressed and pressed posts since 2005. I ratchet out fifty-words a minute when inspired or copying.  Nonetheless, I still have a typewriter although it is in the barn.  It is an Olivetti portable I purchased in Amarillo, Texas, back in the 1970s.  I look at Office Depot and Staples most times I shop and I still see typewriter ribbons stocked. How long will Office Depot stock typewriter ribbons? Probably not much longer.  I like the clack, clack of the keys hitting paper, although it has been twelve years since I used the Olivetti.  Although I eschew Wikipedia, the typewriter ribbons link above is quite informative.

* * *

20. Yucca blossoms

Here I have more photographs of flowers that blossom on Flying Hat Ranchito, an ongoing project of mine for 2012-2013.  The yucca stalks that blossom flowers have been erect for two weeks, but only today have I seen blossoms.  Although we have had rains that nourished the first eruptions of grasses and plants, for almost three weeks now we have been bereft of moisture.  The pastures are already browning and it isn’t even May.  Most likely, the failure of the yucca stalks to bear flowers emanates from our dry spell — we shan’t call it a drought, just yet.

21. Horse mint

Horse mint is neither as prolific nor robust as it was two years ago.  Again, we lack additional rains to bring the horse mint to full fruition.  But some hearty plants, nonetheless, have sprouted.

22. Texas pricklypoppy, Papaveraceae (Poppy Family)

To my west, on the Dooley place, a whole field of Texas pricklypoppy has erupted.  I have a few poppies on Flying Hat Ranchito, and No. 22 is an example.

23. Unidentified

Yellow flowers predominate this time of year on my ranchito, especially the Cut-Leaf Daisy.  But No. 23, a yellow flower, I have not identified.  I first had it down as a Black-Eyed Susan, but now I am not so sure.

24. Indian Blanket

Indian Blankets are rather sparse this Spring, not fully developed as two years ago.  Nonetheless, here is No. 24, a photograph I took this morning over in the far field.  I have brilliant photos of the Indian Blanket from year’s past, but this No. 24 is from my project of photographing wild flowers for 2012-2013.

* * *

This morning as I drove along the southern boundary of the far field where the large pecan tree lives, I came across a roost of Monarch butterflies among the Mustang grapevines and mesquite.  I estimate twenty to thirty Monarchs abounded, played and flew about the fence line, large butterflies they were.  ‘Tis not a promise, but I may go over in the morning and photograph the area.  And, I shall come back to the house and type out my spiel on a QWERTY keyboard, not an iPhone.  Furthermore, my Olivetti portable needs to be resettled in my office and not remain in the barn, do you not agree?

20 Comments

Filed under Flowers of Flying Hat, Wild Flowers of Texas

20 responses to “Olivetti and Flowers of Flying Hat (20-24)

  1. It’s good to see your array of flowers. That poppy is sure pretty. The yellow one looks a bit like Blanketflower, Gaillardia aristata , but I don’t know if they grow in your area.

    I think I might have an old IBM Selectric somewhere in the garage, just for old times sake.

  2. Caralee Woods

    Yucca blossoms are a nice addition to a green salad; you can briefly blanch them or just eat them raw. Enjoy!

  3. Hello Jack, Lovely flowers, I love that pretty white papaver. Looks like a pretty dancing gown.

    I like those old typewriters and the clacks when writing. I just talked to one of my friends about typewriters last week. My cousin in Copenhagen had a real old black one, It might have been from the 1930s-1940s, and she still used it in the 1990s. One of those with a distance between the round tasts (do you know what I mean?). I had to Google now. It looked like an Underwood. There were a few tasts which mingled with each other, so you had to take care not to get stuck. Maybe Hemingway used such an old relic like this, carrying it with him from Paris to Cuba and to the US and back – and to Spain. I would like to do some writing on such an old type writer, it would be inspiring to hear the clacking I’m sure! But as you say – it’s impossible to get hold of the tapes.
    Cheers to your old type writer!

    Send some Monarchs over here!!
    Grethe ´)

  4. I have a lovely memory of my first awareness of Indian blankets while hiking in a small canyon betweeen Los Alamos and White Rock. I love their colors. I do think you should retrieve the Olivetti. Even if not used, for what it represents.

  5. Hi Jack,
    Ah, a nice thing to rever in a post – manual typewriter! I have my dad’s Royal; the ‘action’ on it requires high-stepping strong fingers. Here in Burque we have a cool store called Brown & Smith Office Machines, on Lomas. All the beautiful machinery that runs without electricity! Thanks for posting this for us.

  6. When I first saw the word “olivetti”, I thought perhaps you had a very small variety of olive growing at your place! I used to have a Royal, myself. It’s long gone now, but I wouldn’t mind having another in the house as a backup. I don’t do well writing by longhand – I can’t keep up with my thoughts. A typewriter would do well in the event of electricity loss – or those frustrating Comcast outages.

    The poppy’s beautiful. I hate to name favorites, but I think the poppy in all its forms might be it when it comes to flowers. As for the yellow – I don’t know what it is, but it’s lovely, too. I’ve been working in Galveston, and noticed yesterday that one of the old cemeteries there is filled with yellow flowers. Today, the camera goes with me!

    • Oh, yes, the typewriter is a must. I did bring the Olivetti up from the barn. It is now on the back porch. Hope it doesn’t take me all year to bring to the office.

  7. One of the favorite features of my computer is its typewriting capabilities

  8. I love wildflowers. Thanks for sharing the flowers in bloom in your area. I would much rather receive a bouquet of native wildflowers than a bouquet of hot house flowers.

  9. Yucca blossoms, now there’s something we’ll never see up here in the north. Your recent cataloging is really a lot of fun. I feel like I’m seeing Texas from my office!

    • Thanks, Bill. I am so glad you find it fun. I am enjoying it and learning a lot. I have picked yucca blossoms and put them in salad. Bees also gather pollen from them.

  10. Pingback: Wine Cup Clearing: Flowers of Flying Hat (25-31) | Sage to Meadow

Leave a Reply

