Ranchito blossoms: Flowers of Flying Hat (14-19)

In my continuing task of photographing all different species of blossoms for one year on Flying Hat Ranchito (less than 2560 acres in western America), I have six new pictures to post, only two have I identified.  I thought it better to start posting the ranchito blossoms even though identification is lacking because I don’t want to archive these beautiful plants and I think posting the unidentified will stimulate me to do further research, or possibly you-as-reader have a quick classification in mind.

This time last year, my posts focused on the wildfires and drought.  Today, pastures are green — there is some browning already — and county fire bans in my area are lifted.

14. Milkweed

15. Nightshade

16. Texas vervain (Verbena halei)

17. Unknown

18. Unknown

19. Annual Phlox, periwinkle

16 Comments

Filed under Flowers of Flying Hat, Wild Flowers of Texas, Wildfire

16 responses to “Ranchito blossoms: Flowers of Flying Hat (14-19)

  1. Lovely photos – and quite an assortment of flowers! I do believe #16 is Texas Vervain. You can see a photo and some details here. It’s been quite a year for our flowers – such a treat after last year’s drought.

  2. Kittie Howard

    I remember your info about the milkweed and how butterflies coming from Mexico must dine on it before reproducing, but that most farmers/ranchers rid their lands of the plant, a big problem for the butterflies. So, very happy to see you milkweed photo. You’re going to have some splendid butterfly photos later.

  3. Hi!

    Enjoy your greenery and flowers while you are able!!

    For your last photo, have you tried the periwinkle family yet?

    Scroll down on these pages once you get them opened:

    http://www.livingrainforest.org/about-rainforests/anti-cancer-rosy-periwinkle/

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rosy_Periwinkle

    http://www.bing.com/search?q=vinca+minor&qs=AS&form=QBLH&pq=vinca&sc=8-5&sp=3&sk=AS2

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vinca_major

    In regards to eye surgery, I am scheduled for it on the 17, May. Will need to travel to Memphis though as they do not offer this service anywhere in N.E. Arkansas.

    Basically, I will have the same surgery you had, with the exception they will be removing an extracurricular piece of flesh that has grown over the retina and has ‘wrinkled.’ That is what is causing my double vision that I complained about three or so years ago.

    The main worry was my Coumadin medication. The surgeon and my cardiologist have agreed there is no need for me to go off of it because there will be no incisions and no sutures. It is to be a “drive-by” surgery, unless something untoward happens.

    Question: How long did you have to lie down on your sides before you could be up and about? I am hearing three weeks of lying down with only two hours a day that I am allowed up. Yet, since I have not heard this from the surgeon or his surgical nurse, I don’t know for certain.

    How is your eye doing? Well, I hope because that gives me courage if it is. I need all the courage and prayers I can get. 😀

    Glad Texas had their share of rain this year. You were long overdue for it. We, on the opposite, have had a lot of rain. Sometimes I think it bypasses Texas and winds up here in N. E. Arkansas.

    Enjoy your flower classification.

    • Iona, I had to sit in a special chair with my head down for five days! I could sleep on my sides, but not on my back for a couple of weeks. I had to rent the chair. I had a mirror I could look into while I had my head down that reflected the TV so I did not get quite so bored. I have about 75 percent restoration, perhaps a bit more. It would have deteriorated more had I not had the surgery. I wish you all the good luck and the best of recuperation in your surgery. I will look up the periwinkle. Thank you so much and good luck.

      • Hi Jack!

        Thanks for the well-wishes.

        So far, no one has said a thing about how I am to recover. I’ve been told about lying on my side by others who have had similar surgeries. Guess I’ll know after surgery, huh?

        Right now, we are working on trying to get a tear duct infection under control. Can’t go into surgery with any infection near by! Had the tear duct irrigated on Fri. and am using a topical antibiotic, but it has not improved as of yet. I am to use the antibiotic for only a week and no longer. Hope it kicks in soon or they will of necessity reschedule my surgical date.

        Hold a good thought for me and the clearing of the infection.

        Did you find any similarities in your photo and the periwinkle or vinca plant?

      • I sure hope your infection clears up. I am still assessing the periwinkle and the photo. I just hate to put up things I can’t identify, but I don’t want to get behind. I am sure the doc will give you prescription for recovery position. Good thoughts in your direction.

  4. I appreciate learning about and seeing other plants that I am unfamiliar with. Thank you!

  5. Green pastures and flowers are so much better that wildfires and drought! I hope it continues to be a great year down your way!

  6. That you can post about wildflowers and not drought and fire is a step in the right direction. Too bad your weather last year has found the northeast this year, although we just had a few inches of rain last night, but are still down eleven for the year.

    Thank god Fox News has determined that none of this is due to climate change.

    • Wild Bill, so sorry you are down in moisture. I read lately of snow up there. I hope some fell on your place. Oh, yes, thank goodness for the ‘science’ of Fox News. What would we ever do without Fox News.

  7. Sorry to not be of help with the identity of these unknowns. I agree with Linda about photo quality – you include all the important parts. Yay for your cataloguing!

Leave a Reply

