Sparrow with Bluebell

The proper identification of this red-headed or rusty-headed bird continues to churn me, not only in my daylight hours, but also as I lie awake at night.  For the moment, the species identification includes: Rufous-winged Sparrow, Field Sparrow, immature White-crowned Sparrow.  (Probably another possibility looms in the Peterson’s.)  Factor analysis must wait, however, until I get some chores out of the way today. I will, however, cease all toil if I see these guys again so I can focus.  Thanks to Caralee, Rubia, Montucky and others that have further focused my attention on identification.

Here is a closeup of the Bluebell bell flower.  I discovered a patch thirty-by-twenty feet in size, east of the barn.  Walked right over the patch without noticing at first, saw this flower, bent down and looked around and there was the patch of bell flowers.  I wanted to get a closeup of the flower, so here it is.  I have seen field biologists on their hands and knees with a camera, snapping pictures.  Since I have this goal of taking pictures of every species of wildflower on the ranchito for one year, I best start kneeling with knee pads on?

Below is a wide shot of the Bluebell bell flower patch I discovered.  As you can see, the flowers are quite small, barely discernible in the photo as they are in the field.  You will have to click on the photograph to enlarge in order to see the flowers.  Looks like a lawn of sorts, but it is not.

I am off to the barn and field. I will be looking for the sparrow and flowers. The sun is shining and the temperatures are forecast in the upper 70s, lower 80s.  I shall pace myself.

11 Comments

Filed under Birds, Flowers of Flying Hat

11 responses to “Sparrow with Bluebell

  1. Val

    It looks like it’s a white-crowned sparrow. Here’s a link that has a photo 3rd photo from top) that looks like it and it says that in their first winter they have rufous brown head stripes.
    http://stokesbirdingblog.blogspot.com/2011/10/sparrow-id-help-take-deep-breath.html

    • I see that, Val. I am going to do a factor analysis before too long and see if I can narrow the list of possibles. I have a lot of white-crowns here. Thank you for your comment.

  2. Yup, rump up, knee pads on!

  3. Do Texans wear knee pads? Somehow that vision is destroying my romantic ideal of Texans. Please say you wear chaps and not knee pads.

    • I will wear chaps if there is any wearing of extra protection. Farrier chaps are good. They are shorter, cut to just below the knee. I certainly don’t want to destroy the ideal of Texans and their toughness. I read that all cowboys over 40 years should have their photos in black and white, not color. I agree. Some of us age well, some of us are well beyond rugged to almost ugly 🙂

  4. I believe this is a lark sparrow, a common grass land bird that inhabits Texas and much of the west, but without an exact size it’s hard to tell.
    Nice bluebells, they do make a superior ground cover, don’t they?

  5. Oh, ants! You should see our fire ant mounds now, since we’ve had our four inches of rain. Terrible.

    The bluebell is beautiful. Ground covers are so nice. I have a friend who was terribly proud of her Virginia Buttonweed, until her neighbors informed her they didn’t appreciate the threat she presented to them!

    • Thank you. Those Bluebells are closed for the evening. I’ll have to look up Virginia Buttonweed. ‘Tis a weed? Fire ants have not come out, now that you mentioned it. How could I have missed that?

Leave a Reply

