Flowers of Flying Hat (1-4): Late Winter blossoms

Human beings set goals, or at least I think they should.  On the other hand, doing what comes naturally has its attraction too.  I have set several objectives regarding nature observations on my 53 acres.  Here on the place — called variously, the ranchito, Flying Hat Ranch — I have sought to identify every tree on the place and have started a good list of American elm, cottonwood, mesquite, juniper, oak, and so on.  Identifying every tree continues to be a goal.  Tree identification was (still is) my first goal in field work on Flying Hat.  Other goals I have set up include:

observing another fox and taking its photograph,

identifying every bird I see,

identifying every bird I hear,

for one year, photographing every wild flower I observe on Flying Hat.

Achieving these goals, and the process of doing so, is personally satisfying and gives me narratives for this blog.  I have decided to start another goal-oriented project and demonstrate it on my blog.  I have begun taking pictures of the wild flowers on Flying Hat and my goal is to continue photographing and identifying flowers (all colorful blossoms) through a turn of seasons for one year – March 2012 – February 2013.  So, let’s see how far I can go with this project.  Here are my first photographs.  The No. 3 flower is disputable as a “Texas Star.”

(If I have made an error in typing, please comment or e-mail me your reasons for seeing the flower and plant differently.  I want to be right in my typing, but more than that I want the typing to be correct.  Note: All photographs are taken on the 53 acres of my ranchito; none are photographed off the place or off the ranchito grid.  For a precise location of Flying Hat, see location information in this blog footer.)

1. Verbena (Verbena bipinnatifida?). February 26, 2012, west slope of terrace, Fenster's field. See Wills and Irwin, p. 189.

2. Parralena (Dyssodia pentachaeta), of the Aster family. February 26, 2012, on back terrace and in Fenster's field east of the house. See Ajilvsgi, p. 148.

3. Bluebell bellflower (Campanula rotudifolia), February 26, 2012. See http://www.wildflower.org/gallery/result.php?id_image=3102; see notes below.

4. Violet ruellia, violet wild petunia (Ruellia nudiflora). February 26, 2012, Fenster's field, far field. See http://www.wildflower.org/plants/result.php?id_plant=RUNU; Ajilvsgi, p. 377.

______________________________

Notes, corrections and additions:

No. 3 flower and plant is probably as described in caption.  Thanks to Montucky of Montana Outdoors blog and Grethe of Thyra blog.  The issue seems to be resolved it you stand up the flower and look at the total plant.  The flower would droop like a bell and the leaves and stem favor the image in the citation in the caption: http://www.wildflower.org/gallery/result.php?id_image=3102.

Mary Wills and Howard Irwin, Roadside Flowers of Texas.

G. Ajilvsgi, Wildflowers of Texas.

Campbell and Lynn Loughmiller, Texas Wildflowers.

Steven Foster and Christopher Hobbs, Western Medicinal Plants and Herbs (A Peterson Field Guide).

23 Comments

Filed under Flowers of Flying Hat, Wild Flowers of Texas

23 responses to “Flowers of Flying Hat (1-4): Late Winter blossoms

  1. Wonderful, wonderful goals. I would love to get to know a place so intimately someday, when I stop moving around so often.

    • Rebecca: Thank you. Knowing your work on a graduate degree now, I foresee you performing the same operations I am doing, but only in a much more scientific way. I hope your work is going well. Thanks for commenting.

  2. Rubia

    Jack, violet ruellia! This is the little flower that covers many ditches and yards in the areas in and around Merkel and Sweetwater. I am glad to see you have identified it here on your blog! Good luck with your typing! I look forward to seeing the results and photographs!

    • Rubia: I am fairly certain that violet ruellia is what we see. I have a few more photographs I took yesterday of ‘ruellia’ so I am going to cross-reference the photos. Thank you for your comment. If you take a photograph of your violet ruellia, please send it to me for me to post? Also, when have you come across sagebrush out where you live? If any?

      • Rubia

        Actually just this afternoon, while traveling around the Sweetwater area, I have seen a lot of sagebrush! Yes, I would love to share any violet ruellia I photograph with you! Thank you for sharing your wildflowers here!

      • I am glad to hear that sagebrush is alive and well in Texas! Not that I didn’t think it was, but it’s good to know the direction it is.

  3. Hej Jack, about nr. 3: some funnel-shaped Calystegia and Convolvolus have 5 pointed petals, but I a cannot make the leaves fit.
    But you’ve got a possible guess. I’ll just give it another guess although it might be wild!
    Cheers
    Grethe `)

  4. I think your idea of identifying everything there is an excellent one. I keep chipping away at identifying the flora here too, but not an organized campaign. The shape and color of mystery guest # 3 remind me of the Campanula rotundifolia or Harebell, or Bluebell bellflower, and I see that it does grow in Texas. Can’t be sure though.

    • Montucky: Later today I will look up your references. I just wanted to tell you that your photo work with plants in Montana is superb! You live in such a beautiful state and your work reflects all the things we have heard about Big Sky.

  5. I like the fact that your photos have similar amounts of shadows in them. Well, they were probably taken around the same time – so that is logical. Also, I like that amount of shadow. Also neat that you centered the blossoms and included so much foliage. I get frustrated with field guides that don’t show the whole leaf and stem system. Plants have such a nourishing side to them when you are learning about them.

    • Cirrelda: Thank you. These photos were taken about the same time in the mid-morning, so the shadows are about the same. Agreed: I have a hard time with many manuals that only show the blossom and not the whole plant. I am trying to combine beauty as well as critical data.

  6. Mostly I fly by the seat of my pants and avoid goals, but certainly some are necessary to keep my life organized.
    I just love the idea of identifying every plant, animal on the ranchito, something every property owner might enjoy doing.
    Your Texas wildflowers are just beautiful, we share some of the same Genus in NE but not the same species. Please keep posting these, it is fascinating.

    • WildBill: I also fly by the seat of my pants — I meander rather than go in a straight linear line, or at least most of the time. In my meandering, it’s a pleasure to see, hear and feel what is about. I was wondering how much flora we might share. Your writing is superb, Bill, and I have admired your narratives from day one. (Note: Those of you that have not looked at WildBill’s Wild Ramblings blog need to go see and read it.) I will keep posting for sure on these flowers.

  7. Hej! Now I also think like montucky that nr. 3 looks like a Campanula of some sort!
    Have a nice Sunday!
    Grethe `)

  8. Anonymous

    What a great idea, to identify and photograph all the plants, flowers, and trees on my land. I’ve not been very good at this so far, but it sounds like a worthy thing to do and they certainly deserve to be properly identified. Thanks for the good idea. I always enjoy your own close-ups of the world around you.

  9. If things around here are any indication, you’re going to be very busy, very soon. In the past three days I’ve noticed wisteria, evening primrose, Mountain Laurel (which surprised me – someone must be nurturing it) and what I think is bindweed. There’s a whole assortment of tiny white and yellow things that our municipalities call weeds and battle with fierce determination.

    I’m going to enjoy seeing what you have in your territory, especially through the summer. We’ll hope they get nice drinks of water on a regular basis to keep them pretty and flourishing!

  10. Your beautiful pictures are only fueling my Spring fever. They make me want to start wandering the fields and seeing what is blooming here. With as dry as it has been it will be interesting to see what blooms and if the bloom will be shorter than normal. The vernal pools look to be a “no show” or “very little show” this year.

  11. Pingback: Flowers of Flying Hat (6-8 ): Sow thistle is not a weed. | Sage to Meadow

  12. Pingback: Shame and Kisses: More Flowers of Flying Hat (12-13) | Sage to Meadow

  13. Pingback: Well, I declare! | Sage to Meadow

Leave a Reply

