Succulents at Boyce Thompson Arboretum by Rebecca

Photo by Rebecca in the Woods blog at Boyce Thompson Arboretum, Phoenix, Arizona (2012).

I like succulents because if I don’t I’ll be surrounded by plants I don’t like out here in central West Texas.  On the positive side, succulents adapt and survive in harsh climates, reflective of every species on earth at one time or another.  Natural selection, I think it is called.   Rebecca of  Rebecca in the Woods blog snapped several photographs of succulents at the Boyce Thompson Arboretum, near Phoenix, Arizona, a couple of weeks ago.  The link above will take you to her blog where you can see more photographs of succulents.

I have yucca on every terrace outside my house.  At last count, I had about one-hundred pale-leaf yucca sprouting blossoms in the spring time.

Rebecca has, within the last year, relocated to Wisconsin from Georgia.  She studies nature and this last holiday season she sojourned to Arizona and other places in the Southwest.

From her ‘About’ page:

A small-town girl from Ohio, Rebecca Deatsman received her Bachelor of Arts in zoology and environmental studies from Ohio Wesleyan University in 2009.  After graduating, she worked on bird research in rural Saskatchewan and the Australian Outback before returning to the U.S. to pursue a career in environmental education.  She began blogging in March 2010 as an outlet for her love of writing and natural history. Currently she is working toward a Master of Science degree in natural resources – with an emphasis in environmental education – at the University of Wisconsin at Stevens Point, through an off-campus fellowship program at Conserve School in the Land O’ Lakes area.

Elsewhere on the internet, she can be found on Twitter as @rebeccanotbecky.

Her blog is worth a visit and a visit and a visit…

Here are some of my photographs of succulents outside my backdoor:

Pale-leaf Yucca, Flying Hat Ranch, Texas, photo by J. Matthews.

Pale-leaf Yucca, Y. pallida, photo by J. Matthews.

20 Comments

Filed under Succulents

20 responses to “Succulents at Boyce Thompson Arboretum by Rebecca

  1. I also like succulents, and when we lived in Arizona we had lots of them around. I also remember visiting the Boyce Thompson Arboretum; a great place to visit!

  2. Hej Jack! This is very interesting. I have subscribed to Rebecca now.
    Grethe
    I hope your eye is better and better every day. ´)

  3. I also like Rebecca’s blog. It’s very insightful.

    We are a little short on thick skinned succulents in these parts given the moist climate, but we do have a few. Prickly pear cactus grows along the coast as far north as Cape Cod.

    We have annual thin skinned succulents like jewelweed (Impatiens capensis) but they are hardly the same thing.

    I especially liked you statement “I like succulents because if I don’t I’ll be surrounded by plants I don’t like out here in central West Texas.” Pretty funny!

    • Bill, I am always looking forward to your posts and comments over here and on other blogs I read. Detailed, scientific and with a heart. I’ve been trying to find a post of yours that I can give the “Prairie Sagebrush Award” to, but all of yours are so good, but I think I have found one and I will get back to you — these awards have been a long time coming and I have been blindsided (no pun intended here). Thanks, Bill, for your comments. I did not know that prickly pear grows that far north.

  4. I like yucca. For some time I didn’t realize it bloomed so prolifically – and then I was given its blossoms in a salad! Rather tasty, actually, and a nice treat from time to time.

    My succulents are limited to kalanchoe and some aloe. I seem to be able to grow them nicely, so I just keep them multiplying. I do have some lovely cacti, including a spineless prickly pear that really needs a home in some real dirt so it can grow.

    Love your photos and the link to Rebecca. Those are some fine photos, too, of some beautiful plants.

    • I’ve never had yucca in a salad, but I want to try it. My mother used to have aloe. Rebecca has a fine blog and website. Her photographs lately have been outstanding. If you were close to my place, I would “adopt” your spineless prickly pear, or rather the ranchito would.

      • Who knows? Maybe in the spring we can give the beauty a chance to flourish. It started out as two pads from the Kerrville area and now is branching beautifully – but I can hear it crying for dirt!

    • Two pads and see how it has grown. Fabulous. I’ve talked up your post on the fire of joy. Really fine piece. Wild Bill of Wildramblings writes that cactus grows up as far as Cape Cod! Go figure nature. Your pads will always have a place on the ranchito.

  5. mattisalomaki

    Your Yucca are looking smart. Looks like they are sending up flower stalks too. Pretty cool. Matti

    • Hi Matti: Yes, they have sent up stalks and I am counting on the blossoms in the Spring. Someone wrote that the blossoms would be good in a salad. I’ll try. Thanks for your comment. Hope to see you again.

  6. I visited the Boyce Thompson Arboretum many years ago, back in the ’80’s, when my parents wintered in AZ, near Apache Junction. I remember that day well. A beautiful place, with special memories. Thank you for resurrecting them. I will pay Rebecca’s blog a visit.

  7. Hi Teresa: I want to visit the Arboretum some day. Hope all is well with you and Buddy and Lonewolf.

  8. Great post. Glad to see you back up to speed.

Leave a Reply

