Walking with Great Blue Herons

The grove peninsula. This is one of several peninsulas formed by the meandering Salt Creek (December 2011).

Blue Heron tracks along a still pool of water in Salt Creek (December 2011).

I walked in the grove this morning.  Several peninsulas emerge in the grove, cut by the swift and long-flowing water of Salt Creek.  Upon purchasing Flying Hat Ranchito eight-years ago, I found a red metal chair on the peninsula I photographed, a solitary chair for the previous owner to muse, observe or rest.  I took the chair off the peninsula.

Wet and cold the air, I saw track of the Great Blue Heron that frequents the creek that meanders among the elm, oak and juniper.  I see one or two of them each day flying to the cow tanks about the ranchito.  The heron track I identified with my Peterson’s field guide to animal tracks, a new third edition I purchased when Border’s went out of business in Fort Worth.

I was not alone as I walked in the grove.  The Great Blue Heron — past and present — walked with me in the grove today.

Related articles

 

7 Comments

Filed under Birds, Great Blue Heron, Juniper, Life in Balance

7 responses to “Walking with Great Blue Herons

  1. As I traveled north and then back home in October, I was amazed to see blue herons in each of the ten states I traveled through – along the Mississippi, at the edges of farm ponds, in sloughs and backwaters. They’re graceful, elegant and tolerant of humans. Flip one a fish or two, and you’ve a friend for the afternoon and a willing subject for photos.

    Silly as it may sound, I learned to identify heron and egret tracks at work. They have a habit of fishing along the dock edges, and have a tendency to walk through their own droppings. Voila! Nice, white footprints for the budding bird-watcher to study!

    Are there fish in your creek for them, or are they after frogs and such?
    It’s great to know that you have them (although I probably would have left the chair!)

  2. What a beautiful grove of trees. The first picture looks nothing to me like Great Blue Heron habitat but I imagine that on the opposite side of the creek the land is more open and grassy. I can see why you like to walk here. It looks peaceful.

  3. I envy your walk with the Herons. They are not seen here in winter, perhaps they are near you now. Your posts always make me nostalgic about the Southwest.

  4. To walk with herons is good medicine. This may bring you joy, stealth, and luck. The chair on the peninsula made a great vision, somehow like an unintended work of art.

    • Bill, I think you are correct about the chair. And, also about the herons. I have a lot of payback to the herons (I have a post I have been working on that concerns my connection with a heron).

  5. To walk with the Great Blue Heron sounds like one fine walk.

  6. Pingback: Great Blue Heron and the surf « Creativepotager's Blog

Leave a Reply

