Pasqual’s calendar

At my office at Cisco College in Abilene, Texas, I lean back and put my feet and Ariat boots up on the desk.

My view is nearly always the same when I catch my breath and lean back in the chair.  I have a calendar from Cafe Pasqual’s in Santa Fe — dated back to 2009 — that is of a pajarera (birdhouse).  I like those calendars from Pasqual’s.  I have a calendar underneath this calendar that is from 2008, entitled “Mi Moscata,” showing a boy with a pet squirrel.  Yes, I know, that’s three-years ago and I still have it on the wall.  Further, I have Sage to Meadow blog up on the computer, Dr. Pepper on the desk and behind the Dr. Pepper is a small green box of mild Tabasco sauce — bottle in the box, of course.  I have the red Tabasco there, too, but you can’t see it.  I eat lunch in my office, hence, the condiments.

It is not all boots on the desk, however, for I presented Madison’s influence at the Constitutional Convention to a U.S. History class, and in World Civilization I took the class through the Greek philosophers with a particular aside to the cynic, Diogenes of Sinope: “Alexander, stand out of the way, you are blocking the sun!”  Diogenes could get away with that.

Back when I was growing up, my parents would get a feed store calendar that would have the times of the sun rising and setting and the phases of the moon on each day.  They would use a clothes pin to attach receipts to the calendar until the end of the month when the receipts would be taken down and filed away.  I think some of those calendars had pockets in which you could store receipts.  Maybe not.

At Cafe Pasqual’s in Santa Fe I really like the smoked trout breakfast dish.  What is it called?

SMOKED TROUT HASH
A Golden Gruyère Potato Cake with Two Poached Eggs, a Scatter of Smoked Trout and Tomatillo Salsa 16

Ah, that’s it.

12 Comments

Filed under Life in Balance

12 responses to “Pasqual’s calendar

  1. Darn it, Jack. One of these days we’re going to be in Santa Fe at the same time, having breakfast at Pasqual’s. Oh, does that dish sound good.

  2. Cafe Pasqual sounds wonderful, and the dish is appealing. If you got yourself to Galveston on a weekend and went to the Sunflower bakery for brunch, you’d probably enjoy their potato cake or English muffin with lump crab meat, two poached eggs and hollandaise. I never order anything else.

    I’m tickled by your post. I’ve always enjoyed articles and series on writers and their personal spaces, and this would fit right in. The best touch? The Dr. Pepper. It’s almost as Texan as the boots. 😉

  3. A lovely piece of you, Jack!
    Grethe ´)

  4. Great boots! And the trout hash sounds absolutely exotic to me! The first time I ever drank Dr. Pepper was in New Mexico in 1969. I was 17 years old and entering my freshman year of college at UNM. Didn’t like it initially but it grew on me. I once went to a party on Sandia while at UNM where your choice of drinks was Dr. Pepper or Hamm’s beer. I had one Hamm’s and drank Dr. Pepper the rest of the night!

  5. Oh, and thanks for featuring my blog on the left hand side, plus its a perfect way for me to transition to some of the other blogs I read!

  6. Thanks for featuring my photo on your blog, but the photo is by Evangeline Chavez- Evangeline Art photography, and that is fog between the trees and along the river. I will post that on my blog photo….so people will know what it is. Thanks again.

  7. Thank you. You made my day. As always your blog inspires me.

Leave a Reply

