Ducks returning to pond

These ducks swim away, making no noise at all (North Erath County, Texas, October 21, 2011).

This morning I was surprised.  I drove the F-150 to the grove gate to close it, so as to keep my gelding, Star, from going into the far pasture and gorging himself on new-growth grass.  As I passed by the pond, I saw these ducks.  Many of you see ducks all the time, but here in North Erath County, Texas, ducks are uncommon until November or December.  These ducks made no quacking whatsoever.  They plunged into the pond for feeding.  I returned about two hours later and took some photographs.

In one of my earlier posts about the American Widgeon, I and my blogging friends spent time identifying the ducks.  These guys in the photographs are unidentified.  My Peterson’s guide was chewed up by my dog, Yeller, and I have yet to replace it.  My Audubon field guide does not have flying profiles or additional attributes for me to say for certain what these ducks are.  So, the ducks will be unidentified until I get my Peterson’s guide book re-ordered.

In any case, the ducks have returned to the pond.  Can cooler weather and winter days be far behind?  The ducks say, No, it’s not far behind!

Ducks in flight (North Erath County, Texas, October 21, 2011).

 

8 Comments

Filed under Ducks

8 responses to “Ducks returning to pond

  1. The ducks are definitely on their migration. Here the Northern Pintail are the first ones we see in large numbers. Soon thousands of ducks of various kinds, snow and white-fronted geese and swans will make their way south and will stay awhile to feast on the hundreds of pounds of rice that are left in the fields after its harvest. Each flight I see in the sky, brings the same anticipation of change, that you felt with the wind and the sunflowers the other day.

    • That must be some sight — thousands of ducks and geese. Yes, they are definitely on their migration. What a difference in location as you write about rice and I have never seen a rice field.

  2. I bet it feels good to you to see ducks again on that pond!

    • Oh, it does feel good. The rotation of the seasons continue, Montucky. You had such beautiful photographs, by the way, on the hike through the forest a few posts ago. It was like scenes out of a Tolkien novel.

  3. My first impulse is to say pintails, but the only thing I’m sure of is – not mallards! I did find a wonderful Project Gutenburg illustrated book showing flight profiles. Maybe it will be of use to you until you get your guide.

    The teal have arrived on the coast, and a few coots – most of them seemed to still be in Minnesota when I left last week. But today’s migration? Monarchs! And plenty of them. What a thrill.

    • Teal have arrived — great! But, the monarchs! They are so beautiful and so much a butterfly. They seem almost transcendent of the butterfly kingdom. They used to be so plentiful in an orchard my family once had of plum, peach and apricot trees.

  4. I’m amazed you have enough ground water for the pond to have surface water! After the kind of drought you’ve been having this is quite a surprise to me. Ducks are fabulous creatures. I particularly like how they travel together, ever so efficiently, and move great distances.

Leave a Reply

