Fox and Salt Creek: field log entry 1

Eight minutes ago, I sat down at the site in the grove, above Salt Creek about fifteen feet, where I saw a fox trotting in the creek bed several years ago. I have a folding chair I sit in, my field log, pen, iPhone for composing and taking pics and an internet connection.

Since seated, I log: turkey vulture shadow passes over me, an unidentified wren chatters at me ten feet away, rifle and shotgun firing in the distance, crows cawing, vehicle traffic on SH 108, cool breeze.

I face northwest by west. Here is a photo of the creek bed at the precise spot I saw the fox:

20111015-122037.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Bluestem Field Log (Live), Field Log, Life in Balance

Leave a Reply

