Mingus and Gordon, Texas, evacuated 15 APR 11

Officials have ordered the evacuation of Mingus and Gordon, Texas, six miles to the north of us.

News link on evacuation.

10:51 p.m.  I have returned from Gordon and Mingus.  Fire trucks are concentrating at Gordon.  It’s fairly pacific there.  Russell Stowe Ford Company seems to be moving all of their vehicles out of the building to another location.  Some people are huddled at the volunteer fire department building.

The game warden said that our ranchito — south of Gordon six miles — would probably be okay and not to worry.  He did state that the situation was serious or they wouldn’t have issued the evacuation order.  Obviously, I thought to myself.  Not much help there.

I went to Mingus and the bars were open and still serving drinks and the lights are on.  A Burlington-Santa Fe freight train came roaring through town as I circled the Mule Lip Bar, so at least the railway tracks are presently clear between Mingus and Abilene.  I much prefer Mingus to Gordon.

I came back to our ranch on the south access road of Interstate 20 and I saw in the distance the glow of the fire north of Mingus-Gordon.  I estimate it was at least fifteen to twenty miles away, maybe more.

The wind has died down, probably around ten m.p.h.   I can look directly up in the sky and see the moon despite the smoke.

14 Comments

Filed under Wildfire

14 responses to “Mingus and Gordon, Texas, evacuated 15 APR 11

  1. I have been reading the fire reports in the Abilene paper online. That’s a tough situation going on all over down there! Hopefully your place will be spared! We have had forest fires within ten miles of our place several times and I know how tense that can be! My thoughts will be with you and your wife, Jack!

    • I know that you work to contain fires, Montucky. Dangerous, but necessary work. Tomorrow, Sunday, we have another fire weather alert in the afternoon. Today, though, is clear of alerts. Thanks for your comment.

      • Plenty of bears here, and I came within 45 feet of a large bull moose yesterday. Not very common here but an increasing population every year. I estimate it was 6.5 feet at the shoulder. Absolutely monster head. All I could do to control the hounds, plus I did not have my camera with me. Way too bad!

      • Bill, I didn’t even think of those guys! Forty-five feet away. I read and hear they can be really fierce and brutal. 6.5 at the shoulder! What a deal. I dunno, caught between moose and snake, I think I’ll try and get by the snake. Did the hounds scare it away?

  2. In the midst of calamity, you’ve written a great accounting of what’s happening in your town. “A Burlington-Santa Fe train came roaring through town as I circled the Mule Lip Bar…” You do well under pressure. But, I have been reading and I know the situation is serious. the driest March in Texas since 1895. That’s been awhile. Take care and keep us informed, please.

    • Teresa: The Mule Lip Bar is a relatively new watering hole for Mingus, Texas — known for its Trio Dance Hall and good times from the coal mining and brick making days. It is so dry. We have had some rain here on the ranchito, but fifteen miles away to the north, things are drier. Still, our stock pond is down the lowest it has ever been.

  3. Good reporting to all of us who are interested Jack. Good luck on your ranch, hopefully the marginal rain you’ve had will be enough to protect you.

    • Thanks, Bill. We both have our sets of challenges at different times of the year, don’t we? Wildfires and dry weather here, snow and bears up there in your part of the world. No bears here.

  4. Driest March in Texas in over a hundred years, Teresa says. It’s a good thing we are doing what we can – documenting and processing it all within a community. Bad tornado damage and deaths in Oklahoma to the north, habitat and homes burned to the south in Ft. Davis and Marfa. In the middle, an experienced firefighter killed by his work, in the midst of much damage. All in one week.
    Standing together – noting the good preparedness of you in the thick of it.
    In solidarity.

    • In solidarity, my friend, we’ll document the community as best we can. I’m ready for some boring days and nights. I’ve got to get batteries for the flashlights. I’ve read about the terrible conditions in Ft. Davis. Beautiful place. Hope all is well there.

  5. Kittie Howard

    Your area has been on the news here in Virginia. The driest weather, like those above said, in 100 years. It’s a demanding challenge. I hope you and Brenda and your ‘kids’ remain safe and that the fire is contained. I’m sending positive wishes your way.

    Another tornado storm is headed our way.

  6. It’s remarkable how much this post reminds me of the days prior to a hurricane. You do what you can to prepare, and then you evacuate, or not.
    There’s a certain anxious serenity that sets in – very difficult to describe, but I feel it here.

    Our rule of thumb is “Run from water, hide from wind”. There’s no hiding from fire, though – at least none that I can see. Best wishes to you and to all who have to make choices in the midst of this.

    • I never thought of the connection till you wrote about it. You prepare, then decide. That’s what they were doing two nights ago in Mingus and Gordon. Course in Mingus, they hunkered down in the Mule Lip Bar — and other watering holes — and ordered another Shiner.

      Thank you for your wishes. I like your rule of thumb. Wise.

Leave a Reply

