Fire near Possum Kingdom Lake 15 APR 11

Smoke from Possum Kingdom Lake fire, MM 373, I-20, Mingus, Texas

Today is a bad day, a tragic day for our area in west-central Texas.  A firefighter has been killed in fighting a fire near Gorman, Texas, about thirty-five miles west of us.

Our place is not in danger from the uncontrolled fires.  Last Sunday we had nine-tenths of an inch of rain so there has been some moisture about the grass and trees.  Not so north and west of us a few miles.  I have the F-250 at the ready to hitch the horse trailer and take our livestock out of the area.  In DeLeon, Texas, close to Gorman where the fire took the life of the firefighter, they have set up large stock pens for cattle, sheep and horses to be maintained.  Local feed stores, farmers and ranchers have donated hay.

If necessary, I will drive to the Equine Sports Medicine and Surgery area for Star to be stabled.

There are at least four fires in the immediate area north and west of us.  Today we have had the highest sustained wind for the year at about 34 m.p.h. and gusts over 55 m.p.h.  The Texas Highway Patrol has closed State Highway north of Strawn, Texas, a nearby village to us.

State Highway 16 closed by Texas Highway Patrol.

I had to run an errand to Mingus Quick Stop and I took these photographs of the sky and smoke.  The fire is approximately sixty miles away from where I took these pictures.  The smell is pungent and eyes burn.  My wife, Brenda, drove to Abilene this afternoon to attend a conference and fires were also breaking out west of Cisco.  Even within the pickup, she reported burning eyes from the smoke.

Facing northeast, MM 374, I-20, Possum Kingdom Fire, Mingus, Texas

17 Comments

Filed under Wildfire

17 responses to “Fire near Possum Kingdom Lake 15 APR 11

  1. Oh Jack, how terrible. Fire can move so quickly and be so devastating. I’m so glad you have the trailer hitched and ready to go. Do keep us posted.

  2. Watching from south of Houston, and sending condolences on the loss of your firefighter.

    We’re also listening. If you don’t have RadioReference.com in your bookmarks, it’s worth having. Here’s the link for Palo Pinto County.

    Best of luck to you all.

  3. Keeping good thoughts for you and yours and all the all the folks down your way. Wish I could send some of the rain that continues to come our way down to you all. Take care.

  4. It is scary, and your pix show massive smoke. I was monitoring another awful fire way south of you in Ft. Davis/Marfa a few days ago through a friend who is from there. I will be hoping for the best for you all.

    • Thanks, Cirrelda, the winds are dying down a little, but the smoke is really bridging on suffocating outside. Star decided to stay in his stable this afternoon and not even venture out to the corral.

      It’s dry and windy and the Southwest. It’s the nature of things and hard to get past.

  5. Wild fire can be as scary as hell. We’ll all hope that everything turns out fine for you and yours in Texas Jack. I was very sorry to hear about the fire fighter who lost his life. This must be terribly tragic for his family.

    Let’s all hope for a good spring Texas rain that will restore some moisture to the soils and plants.

    • He was a twenty-year veteran. I know there were wildfires when I was younger, but I don’t remember them being this bad. We’ve had some terrible events around here. We prepare as best we can. Thanks, Bill.

  6. That is a tragic fire. It’s so sad to have someone killed like that! I’m glad that so far at least you and your wife are not threatened. I wish you had a little of our rain. We are prepared for our fire season here too, but not yet knowing what to expect.

    • I know, it’s so sad. I was in the pickup on the backroads when Brenda called me and told me about him. He was experienced, but the fire was just too much. I know you fight fires up there and must get prepared too. We do our best.

  7. Jack I’m so sorry. We have had the highest winds this April since I’ve been here in AZ. There are fires everywhere and each time we hear the sound of sirens we cringe. Very dry winter, as I’m sure you had in Texas as well. I’m so sorry for the firefighter’s family and the loss the plants and animals. Wish engineers could figure a way to remove water from flooded areas and send it our way.

    Be safe. You are wise to be prepared.

  8. I’m glad to hear you and Brenda are not in imminent danger. I’ve been wondering about you; our local news doesn’t get specific with most of the fires but our own. It’s going to be a wicked season, to be sure. It seems we went from snow on the ground to ground that bears a strong resemblance to Saltillo tile floors. Wise of you to keep the truck and trailer ready. Keeping you both in my thoughts, as well as the family who lost a loved one fighting it. So very, very, tragic.

  9. Pingback: Smokey Bear Hotshots of Ruidoso, New Mexico, help fight Possum Kingdom fires | Sage to Meadow

Leave a Reply

