Canada! Watch out for Lonespurs Shining Badger!

 

Lonespurs Shining Badger born April 11, 2011, Calgary, Alberta.

Sweet Hija foaled a colt, Lonespurs Shining Badger, on April 11, 2011.  Kim Elliott, the owner of Sweet Hija, has selected the paper name for the colt:  Lonespurs, the name of their ranch near Calgary where Legends of the Fall and Open Range were filmed; Shining, after the sire Shiners Lena Doc; and Badger, after the King Ranch bloodline of Sweet Hija.

Kim said that Sweet Hija was as big as Mac Truck before she foaled and that she had the foal all by herself, no problem.  That’s one of the reasons we bought Sweet Hija in 2003.  She was strong and bred for ranch work and could take care of things quickly.

I thought that all my tears had been shed about Sweet Hija, but Brenda and I gave a few more tears to the good earth when we learned of Hija and Highway 101, the barn name for the little colt named, Lonespurs Shining Badger.

Kim Elliott and her family — I talked to them on the phone — are so very proud of Hija and Highway 101 that I think (don’t know for sure) they will keep Highway 101 intact and have him sire a whole new bloodline in Canada.  We’ll see if my hunch is correct.

In any case, watch out, Canada, for this little man!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Notes:

Kim Elliott and her family operate and own Elliott Equine Transport, the premier horse transport for North America.  Highway 101, Kim told me, is the coastal highway they travel between Canada and Mexico and the place in between and a fitting name for the little colt.

11 Comments

Filed under Horses, Sweet Hija

11 responses to “Canada! Watch out for Lonespurs Shining Badger!

  1. Caralee Woods

    Oh my, he’s wonderful. What a great place Hija went to, what great owners and such a beautiful setting. Hija looks happy, doesn’t she? Got her a little baby boy to teach in the perfect place.

  2. What a beautiful little foal!

  3. Oh sweet little life all around us! How fine that is! He’s a handsome foal. A whole new bloodline in Canada sounds like a very good idea. What great photos they sent to share it with you. I would be shedding some tears, too (I did for you and Brenda, just a little).
    Life is good.

  4. Kittie Howard

    Congratulations, Jack. You’re a grandpa! And what a handsome feller he is. Highway 101 is a perfect name. And how nice it is that you’re in such contact and have photos. Yep, life is good!

  5. Congratulations Jack! What will they call the colt for short? Despite our best intentions, all of our animals end up with a nickname!

  6. Part of the trip to my sisters and my mom’s house is made on 101 as it travels through Sonoma County. Now, whenever I travel 101 I will think of this handsome little guy. Great name. A toast to you and Brenda and of course to Hija. I’m sure she will raise him well.

  7. So glad I got to see these photos – such joy! And what a good mama Sweet Hija is. So she has King Ranch ancestors? I have a book I need to send to you.

  8. This is terrific news. Isn’t it wonderful that this has turned out so well. Your wishes came true I’m sure!

    The photos are wonderful, what a beautiful young colt!

    Thanks for sharing this. It made my evening.

  9. What a beautiful colt he is! And so good to know that he will be very well cared for!

  10. What joyous news! Love his nickname, too.

  11. Beautiful photos Ray. Spring is finally here!

Leave a Reply

