No more rodeo

 

Texas Cowboy Reunion rodeo opening scene.

Received news today after doctor’s examination that I had an acute (severe) irritation of the cartilage in my left knee caused by arthritis.  No surgery is planned, nor  M.R.I.  The warning signs of the knee giving way, freezing up or ballooning the size of a grapefruit will necessitate further action, but for now, no more running or rodeo.

Not that I ever got caught up in rodeo.  The last one I participated in was back in 1958 when Brian Bettis and I scrambled for calves at the Comanche County Rodeo.  We came in second, bruised and somewhat bloody by the calf.  Calf won, we lost.  Since then, I’ve always worked cattle using a squeeze chute.  The simplest squeeze chute is to block both ends of the chute with heavy timber.  The cattle I handled were not abused and came to be accustomed to the chute to the point they stood calm while I doctored or vaccinated.  I will continue to work cattle with the chute since it doesn’t require heavy labor, just patience.

In any case, Sawbones said that I could not run or sprint again and that I would have to wait awhile to go back to the dance hall.  I love to dance.  I hear fiddle music and I am carried away.  But I have to wait awhile.

Gruene dance hall, oldest in Texas.

Further, the Doc said I needed to get some riding shoes or boots with soft soles.  After leaving his office, we went to Cavenders and I bought some Ariats with soft soles.  I wore them out of the dry goods store and they feel really good.

The cane?  Well, yes, I bought a cheapie at Walgreens and will use it for infrequent occasions.  My first use of it was to poke Brenda in the backside.  She did not appreciate that.

It is a bench mark to be told that “the running days are over.”  I ran occasionally in the pastures for exercise, but it was never a habit pattern.  Still, it’s a solemn note on the music score today.  Yet, I hear music and it’s a band with fiddle and guitar.  Come on, Brenda, let’s waltz across the floor!  You’re not a widow yet.

10 Comments

Filed under Dancing

10 responses to “No more rodeo

  1. Well, “wait awhile” implies there are still good times to come, and a prescription for new shoes besides. Not the worst news at that! I think I like that doctor!

    • Wait awhile. I liked that phrase too. For exactly the same reason. Seems to indicate I can do most of the things I love again — walking the trail path, climbing up the path in high country. You would like my Sawbones.

  2. Hello Jack! If it is an acute irritation then you’ll just have to wait a while like Sawbones said. Then you can dance, maybe not as good as before, but! You could sign up in the old peoples’ dance club. Hm! You know, first I read youre doctor’s name I thought….. well you’ll have to excuse me, because this isn’t my first language, but I thought Sawbone was his real name, until I read the post a second time. Maybe you’ll be sitting down more than you use to in the next period, so you might have a little brass bell beside you. Then you can ring Brenda instead of poking her with the cane when you need coffee or tea . I guess you’re a coffee drinker !
    Bows to you and your left knee ….
    Grethe `)

    • Grethe: I’ve laughed about your comment. I do have a bell on the porch that I can ring. I am a coffee drinker, primarily, although over here in west Texas we drink iced tea a lot. Brenda laughed when I poked her with the cane. I won’t do it often, just for grins. I’ll dance again and again. Won’t be as good as before, but I’ll dance. Thanks, Grethe for your comment. Sawbones is an American West idiomatic term for medical doctor as you understand now. There are three kinds of doctors: horse, bone and book. Or, vets, M.D.s and Ph.Ds. My Sawbones’ name is Steven Cole, M.D. His father was a doctor and Cole has a ranch up near the Red River. And, there’s no more rodeos for him either.

  3. Crystal

    I love my Ariats — couldn’t be without them! So there’s one bright side. If only I could get my doctor to require new shoes. Oh wait — I did! But they were ugly shoes. 🙂 See you in the trenches today.

    Crystal

  4. Now, Jack, I thought we agreed we weren’t going to use that word “cane.” Take that well-earned rest, my friend, it’s been a long winter, then onward into spring.

    • Should’ve used the word, “walking stick.” Sounds better, feels better. Am looking forward to resting this coming week — Spring vacation. Will gradually get back into my field path through Flying Hat.

  5. No more running? As long as you can have, after full recovery, a brisk hike at a decent pace there is nothing wrong with that. Evidently you still have a sense of humor, poking Brenda on the backside with your walking stick, which is exactly what I would have done!

    And giving up the rodeo? That’s for the very young anyway.

    Here’s my prediction, you are going to recover quickly, fully, and be able to do whatever you want to do. The power of positive thinking beats medical predictions any day of the week!

    Get well, completely, soon and keep that good sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

