Quarter-size moon in north Erath County, Texas

For the last two mornings as I have walked the dogs and tended horses, the temperatures have been down into the lower 50s, upper 40s.  Such a relief to have Fall come.  I slip into my old, red coat to enjoy the cool, late-night outdoors before dawn.  My Aussie shepherd, Yeller, and schnauzer, Lottie, linger at the gate.  The quarter-size moon in the eastern sky holds water like a cup.  I hear coyotes.  Yeller stands still, facing the coyote chorus.

The pack goes quiet and we return to the house, enter the kitchen and begin the day.

7 Comments

Filed under Dogs, Flying Hat Ranch

7 responses to “Quarter-size moon in north Erath County, Texas

  1. What a fine way to start my morning. Your post, with its clear, concise and beautiful imagery, inspires me.

  2. Wonderful description of our Texas weather the last few days. I was so happy yesterday outside I did not want the day to end.

    Love your writing,

    Maggie

  3. Kittie Howard

    The quarter-size moon in the eastern sky holds water like a cup.

    Ahhh, perfect!

Leave a Reply

