Santa Fe Farmers’ Market

Over the Labor Day holiday, we took a mini-vacation to Santa Fe, stopping on the way to visit my daughter in Lubbock, Texas.

Roasting Peppers

From the first hour we were in Santa Fe, my wife, Brenda, said that we must go to the Farmers’ Market in the Santa Fe rail yard.  I was glad we went because the Santa Fe plaza was  filled with white-tented craft booths and in the evenings we could not enjoy strolling in the plaza.  There was a pleasant display of crafts, but no opportunity to stroll on the plaza.  Another evening, another trip for that.  So it was off to Farmers’ Market early Saturday morning.

The Farmers’ Market meets all expectations for food and merriment and good all-around fun for a Saturday morning!  I took photographs.  Brenda purchased garlic oil, leeks, dried apple chips, basket, a garlic chain and sage-lavender soap.  We put the leeks in our cooler in the room under ice so that we could have leek soup when we returned to our ranch.  Chili peppers?  Well, we had them at every meal in Santa Fe, from Cafe Pasqual’s to Lumanaria.  Oh, boy, how great it is, a movable feast in Santa Fe.

Here are few more photos of the market.  I’ve read some of my blogger friends lately that have hankered for chili and New Mexico.  So, for you, here are some photos to whet you appetite before you book for travel.

Shallots at Santa Fe Farmers' Market

Santa Fe Farmers' Market Stroll

The Chef at St. Francis Hotel looking for fresh ingredients.

Roasting Peppers

Brenda at Cafe Pasqual's before we went to Farmers' Market. Pasqual's did not open up until 8:00 a.m. We were there early, thinking it opened at 7:30 a.m. We went in and had a fine table because we were early.

This is our table at Cafe Pasqual's. We had arrived early and were one of the first to be seated. We like the sparkling water and often take the bottle home to put fresh plants in so as to conserve the bottle and the energy spent to make it. Geraniums. Yes, geraniums. I have always had them around me. Mother grew them for as long as I can remember.

Chili Peppers, Farmers' Market, Labor Day Weekend, 2010

20 Comments

Filed under Santa Fe

20 responses to “Santa Fe Farmers’ Market

  1. I had a suspicion that you two had sneaked off to Santa Fe. Love the Farmer’s Market there. How fun. And Cafe Pasqual’s. You have my favorite table. Darn it, Jack. Now I’m getting bit by the bug, the Light Out for the Territory bug. Still thinking this fall…. Looks like you had a great time. Good for you!

  2. Good for you guys for getting on the road and getting outta town. A great thing you are documenting – the local harvest especially of chile. Here in Albuquerque the roasting green chile aroma catches us on our daily drives to and from work and school. The roasting smell is savored by everyone as a rite of passage. good job keeping us posted of your good adventures, Chronicler Jack.

  3. Jack,

    I didn’t know you had kin in Lubbock. My second oldest is at Texas Tech studying music. I’m heading there when the colors change in the canyons. We should meet there for a few beers sometime. I hope the summer was kind to you this year.

    Jeff

  4. This is one of my favorite Farmers’ Markets, not to mention, one of my favorite places to visit. And, the most wonderful thing is that my best friend now lives there so I can visit often.

    • Thank you Wildstorm. I admire your photography on your blog. You do such wonderful posts! I hope to spend more time once this semester is off and running looking at your work and commenting.

  5. Ruth Karbach

    That Saturday I was in New Mexico,walking through yucca and grass-thufted ranch graveyards searching for the grave of Ellen Lawson Dabbs, M.D., a leader in the Texas woman’s suffrage movement and activist in the Farmer’s Alliance and Populist Party. Dabbs contracted tuberculosis, possibly during her service at a Florida military hospital in the Spanish American War, and moved to the Logan, New Mexico area for the health beneifts of the arid climate. On the ranches, there were many unidentified graves with wind smoothed sandstone markers and metal holders with paper which had been cleansed by the rain. There were concrete markers with names hand written, sometimes without birth or death dates. There were graves without markers of any kind. All were on a small scale in contrast to the big expanse. Standing in the bright sun and strong winds, I realized the isolation of those with tuberculosis extended into death. Rev. Broom, a Methodist minsiter in Logan and experienced anthropoligst, helped me with my quest. He also suggested the slider burger at the Annex in Logan,. It is not the sissified slider in today’s trendy restaurant. A hardy local beef burger is topped by green chili sauce and white cheeses all on top of a bun graced by tomatoes. History lesson, philosophic reflections, a new friend, striking landscapes and a perfect dish–all in a small New Mexico town.

    • Ruth, thank you for your comment! I do hope you found the grave of Dr. Dabbs. I have heard of Logan, New Mexico, and want to go there. You truly have entered a very excellent composition of the vast expanse of that state. I think there is part of your book in your comment.

  6. Kittie Howard

    Jack, your photos are so clear, the colors so real, I felt like I could reach into the screen and fill my basket with mouth-watering delights. (Except I’d have walked and nibbled on the roasting peppers, yum!) I also thought the photo of Brenda entering the restaurant was Travel & Leisure perfect. S. Pellagrino water is my absolute favorite! I sometimes open a bottle, sit outside, and sip into the sunset.

    Sounds like you and Brenda had a great weekend!!!

    • We have a lot in common. Thank you for the compliment about Brenda entering the restaurant. Pasqual’s is just about our favorite place. St. Pasqual is the patron saint of cooks. I didn’t know that until last year. Thank you, Kittie.

  7. Sometimes, I want to live in Santa Fe. There’s much magic here in the Northeastern mountains, but you should see our Farmer’s Market. SAD doesn’t begin to describe it. 😦 And I hope Lilly is okay.

  8. Evangeline

    I am glad you made it to Santa Fe, and it was a good time to go. This time of the year is when there is slight nip in the air, you can feel the coming of fall but most of all the smell of chile roasting…..I bought my sacks of chile , and packed them in the freezer so I can enjoy them over the winter…

    Evangeline

Leave a Reply

