Nuzzles and Campus

Horses on Bianditz mountain, in Navarre, Spain...

Horses on Bianditz mountain, in Navarre, Spain. Behind them Aiako mountains can be seen.

My summer has ended.  Although the season does not astronomically change until September 21st, my summer is over.  I will feed the horses in an hour or so, then drive the interstate highway to campus, officially beginning the Fall semester.

Our summer has been dark and bright, jagged and smooth.  Broomweed has been shredded, horses husbanded and a vacation to the high country taken.  Brenda painted our doors Taos blue and green, symbolizing a color that repels the ills of the cosmos.  But they also look beautiful.

Here is one of my favorite pictures that I will carry with me as I return to campus.

Shiners Fannin Peppy "Fanny" Nuzzling Jack

18 Comments

Filed under Flying Hat Ranch, Horses, Shiners Fannin Peppy (Fanny)

18 responses to “Nuzzles and Campus

  1. Thanks for keeping us posted so well on so many things. As you do your daily drive, enjoy the groove of that renewed solitary time. May your classes prosper!

    • Thank you, Cirrelda. Eres muy amable. (Hope I got that right.) I’ve forgotten how the solitary time is good. I do the long drive tomorrow. Today was only 45 miles, tomorrow 87.2, then 87.2 miles back. Thank you for your wishes.

  2. Have a good week, Jack. Despite the bureaucratic aspect, much good is unfolding for you and your students, as the new academic year unfolds. There is no doubt they are blessed by your presence. Blue and green doors, that sounds pretty. Teresa

  3. Hej Jack! I have never ever seen such a sweet horse! She really loves you! And she wants to be portrayed too!

    Cheers,
    Grethe

  4. Great picture, and how I imagine you and your best buddies. Can we get you to post some closeups of the beautiful Lilly too?

    I can’t believe summer is over for so many people—school buses rolling past my house in the morning already. When we were kids we didn’t go back until after Labor Day, but I guess they get more time off during the year now? Not sure how that works.

    Your students are damn lucky to have you as a teacher. Do you spend a lot of time at home working on preparation, homework, etc.? Sounds tiring but passionate.

    • Debra: Of course I will post some closeups of Lilly. She is an old girl, a fine girl and I love her to death. I will post more about her. Yes, summer is over for a lot of us. Things have changed like you said. I remember going back after Labor Day. It was cool. Thank you for saying my students are lucky. I don’t spend much time at home working on the courses. I teach some online and I will work on those at home. I use a variety of methods. Mainly I prep them and they respond either orally or in writing. I make them write a lot. I make them write essays on their tests. None of this multiple-choice stuff. Since they are junior college people, I have a lot time teaching them the craft of research and critical thinking, parsing, etc. Many years ago I was voted Teacher of the Year, but I was younger then and a bit more agile of mind. A lot of my best work in behind me now, but I have some in front of me and that’s what keeps me going. I find, more than my colleagues, an eagerness to learn among my classes. Not all, but a lot of students are serious enough to hear. I make them grow old, they keep me young. Like Fanny. Thank you, Debra for commenting.

  5. Forgive me if you posted this already, but tell us what classes you are teaching? Is critical thinking actually a class? Sounds like something I’d like. Never took anything like that. I’m so glad you make them write, I don’t think you’ll find anybody on here who would disagree with how important it is. No guessing in an essay—you either know the material or you don’t. Just the effort it takes to write down the words is good experience, if only they knew.

    • No, I’ve not posted the courses I teach. I may have said something in passing. Currently, I have World Civilization and U.S. History as my assignments. Two are face-to-face and three are online. In the past, I’ve taught several anthropology, government and humanities courses, but our small college does not offer anthropology.

      At the universities, I have taught Anthropology and Religion (one course, with scientists and seminary students) and Native American History. Dallas-Fort Worth is right behind Los Angeles in population size of Native Americans. I think it’s LA, DFW and Minneapolis-St. Paul as the largest communities of Indians.

      Of all things, Debra, I am thinking these next few days about using WordPress as a blog-website for my courses. Very limited, but I need something off the grid of college administration. They snoop and control their website too closely for me. Don’t know if I will, but you can see a little bit more of what I do with the site, if I get it up.

  6. I would carry that picture with me too. Fanny and you have a great bond. I can see that the animals play a big part in your live too.
    Have a good start with the new semester. What are you teaching this year?
    Are you going back and forth to the Ranch over weekends? I do not know how far the campus is from your home….so forgive me if I am way off with this question.
    Ps. great picture of you on the main page

    • Jacqueline: Yes, a great picture. I’m teaching world civilization and American history, my two old standby courses. I commute to Abilene Tuesdays and Thursdays to lecture, then rest of the days I teach online. I come back home everyday. I travel an interstate highway for about 80 miles with moderate traffic so it is not too bad. Thank you for your comment about my pic. I like your new picture, too.

  7. Kittie Howard

    Jack, you very eloquently described a full season with few words that said much. I could envision all, remembered your posts, and, yes, felt a sense of nostalgia as the sun lowered–but also a sense of excitement at what fall will bring. I must confess, tho, that the older I get the more I want summer to linger. For some reason summer seems safer, a Mary Poppins time that lulls the senses. Guess it’s because i’m from a hot clime.

    • I understand your perchance for the hot clime. Such personal attributions you make about the summer are so very good. Louisiana always seemed fertile to me with the heat. Exciting, exotic, alive.

  8. Wishing you a great school year!

Leave a Reply

