Quite a Merry Crowd (1892)

Last Friday night an old fashion straw ride was gotton up, and participated in by Misses Clara Fentress Maymee and Lillie Dofflemyre, and Mrs. Tennon, Messrs Chas. Biggs, A. P. Homar, T. A. Murray, Nix Lidstone, and Elsworth McKenna.  They visited the bridges and rode through town.  Quite a merry crowd, but hard up for fun.

______________________________

Notes:

From the San Saba County News, San Saba, Texas, February 19, 1892, Vol. XVIII, No. 14, p. 4.

http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn86088452/1892-02-19/ed-1/seq-1/

The Library of Congress, National Endowment for the Humanities, has digital newspapers of small towns, some ten or so from Texas.  San Saba, Texas, is the birthplace of many of my ancestors and is part of the digital archive of the Library of Congress.

4 Comments

Filed under San Saba Texas

4 responses to “Quite a Merry Crowd (1892)

  1. I went on a couple of hay rides way back when. Love those old-fashioned names. Shall we assume Mrs. Tennon was the chaperon?

    Your newly posted photo looks like a still from a western movie set. Cool.

    • So did I on a couple of hay rides. I, too, love those names. Yes, now I am presuming, that Mrs. Tennon was the chaperon. You are correct. Five young men for two maids? Now, what do you think happened after the hay ride? Answer: they five young men paid call for two years until the two maids decided whom they would marry.

      Thanks for the recognition that my pic is okay. It was taken at Fredericksburg, Texas, in 2008, while we tried to enjoy (and did) a Thanksgiving vacation. It was shot in front of the Cotton Gin cottages, one of which we rented and soaked ourselves in the hot tub. Hot tub! Hot tub! SNL.

  2. Kittie Howard

    Something about these quaint names that’s comforting. Having said that, I hope Mrs. Tennon wasn’t a widow lady. And I read several times the ‘hard up for fun’ phrase but couldn’t decide exactly what was meant. Curious how the double-speak was back then. Teresa’s right about your photo, Jack. Cool!

    • Yes, I read the “hard up for fun” phrase several times and grinned each time I did. I don’t use the term when I lecture or I lose two-thirds of the class in some kind of misty reverie.

      Thanks for the compliment on the photo. I thought maybe I should personalize the blog a bit. During the winter, my git-up is pretty much like the photo. I lose the bandanna when lecturing, but most of the other time, I’m vested and western. During the summer, I dress for the heat, usually wearing — when not in the brush — British desert shorts. You know the north African kind.

Leave a Reply

