The Hardin Way

Jimmie Hardin Quarter Horses in Aubrey, Texas

Shiners Fannin Pepto, my one-year-old colt, is being ground trained and fit for the Summer Sale at Triangle Sales, Shawnee, Oklahoma, on June 5, 2010.

I took him as far as I could in ground training, but it was time to send him to Jimmie Hardin Quarter Horses in Aubrey, Texas, for training and conditioning for sale.

Jimmie Hardin in Show

I went up to Aubrey, Texas, yesterday, to see Jimmie and Shiney.

I hardly recognized him since he has a month’s growth since I last saw him.  But, that’s not all.  He has been groomed and taught manners.  He stands on his four feet in a show pose and is learning to trot with Peppy, his trainer, and Jimmie.

Jimmie Hardin has been Aubrey, Texas, for several decades, building upon the horse business of her father.  The little town of Aubrey has grown up around her.  Jimmie’s corrals border the Aubrey High School and a Sonic drive-in is just down the street.  She says that nowadays land is selling by the square foot.

Jimmie told me to go up to Shawnee on the third of June, settle Shiney into his stall and have him presented for passers-by when they come and look on Friday, the day before the Saturday sale.  She is going to purchase a leather halter and stud chain for Shiney to look his best.  There will be a bit of silver on the halter to sparkle.  I want him to look his best and that means leather halter.

Equine Body History

Horsewoman Hardin said that Shiney has taken a real liking to Peppy, the handler with whom you see in the photograph.  Peppy grooms and trots Shiney.  They have a bond together.  The treatment that Jimmie and Peppy give to my colt will engender confidence in him to trust humans and know that their touch will be kind and never hurtful.  With older horses, like my Star (levitating horse in winter), you can discern the history of treatment to them.  Ears, feet and flanks of the equine body embed the treatment of years past and one can see kind firmness, but also mistreatment and mistakes.  Experienced horsemen and horsewomen can pick up the history.  Monty Roberts, a famous horse trainer, can discern the equine-body history rapidly in the round pen and corral.

The Handler Peppy with Shiners Fannin Pepto

Peppy the Handler Alerting Shiney to Pick those Ears Up

The Hardin Way

It is important for humans and horses alike to respect the other.  It will insure a long and happy life for both.  The Hardin Way develops the horse and provides the human with a well-mannered companion.

Jimmie Hardin with Shiners Fannin Pepto

7 Comments

Filed under Horses, Shiney (Shiners Fannin Pepto)

7 responses to “The Hardin Way

  1. Jimmie’s a woman. Well, I’ll be… very cool. Heard you mention the name often and made an assumption. I love it when things are different than my preconceived notions allowed for. Glad to hear Shiney’s doing so well and will have a leather halter with a bit of shine for the big day. He is a beautiful horse. Someone is going to be very blessed by his presence in their life.

    • Yes, a leather halter. Must get him spiffed up. He’ll be a good boy, I know. Jimmie knows horses. She instilled confidence in me that Shiney could learn his manners. I had never had a colt and they are different! But, she and Peppy have given Shiney a really good start.

  2. Kittie Howard

    I thought Jimmie was a woman when I saw the spelling and was happy to see the lovely photo of her with Shiney. I must share that prior to your blog I was horse-shy. When my brother was in his late teens, a farm horse stumbled on a grass-filled ditch. My brother landed on his head. The swelling almost doubled the size of his head. He eventually had to have a plate installed. Doctors in Houston did a fabulous job. He is fine today. Of course, I was older when the accident happened (and, truthfully, my brother shouldn’t have been on the horse in the first place), but the swelling and so on left an impression, perhaps a fear, of horses that made me tense around them.

    My grandfather had raised horses on the farm when HE was a young man because he loved to ride. My father loved to ride. However, a child in our area suffered a nasty fall just prior to us moving to the farm when Daddy returned from Iwo Jima. He and his father made the decision not to keep horses on the farm. So, I’m calm as a cucumber around cows but skittish around horses, mainly because I don’t know much. However, thanks to your blog I’m learning that so much is about manners. And this isn’t scary at all. Thanks, Jack!

    • I’m so sorry about those accidents. Horses are powerful flight animals and humans get hurt. Kittie, my background has been around cattle, not horses, and I have to talk to myself before I saddle. I have more to write about my relationship to horses someday. For now, horses have settled me down. I would have been a better man, a better husband, if they had been in my life earlier. More later….

  3. I recognized that name right away but could not put a face to it. Living not far from Aubrey, I have passed by probably a hundred times Hardin’s place. I don’t know her though but you hear names all the time in horse country. Glad to know you are having a good experience and results! Good looking horse!

  4. Anonymous

    What is the difference between a comment and reply? –Jack Matthews [not logged in as sysop].

  5. Wildstorm: Doesn’t she have beautiful entrance to her farm and stables there on 377? It’s just as clean and nice within the compound. Thanks for the compliments on the horse.

Leave a Reply

