First Anniversary Prairie Sagebrush Awards, June 27, 2010

First Anniversary of Sage to Meadow Blog, June 27, 2010

On June 27, 2009, I began blogging.  My first blog was The 27th Heart.  Over a period of time, I changed the name of my blog to Sage to Meadow.  In order to celebrate and pay attention to a year of learning and relating to other bloggers, I am going to give a Prairie Sagebrush Award to each of my blogging friends for their best post.   Read the details below.

Prairie Sagebrush Award

The First Anniversary Prairie Sagebrush Awards, June 27, 2010, will be given to the finest post written by my blog friends, during the year, 2009-2010.  One post will be chosen from each blog and I will edit and publish them as a collection on June 27, 2010, on Sage to Meadow.   For each reader comment, Sage to Meadow Blog and Flying Hat Ranch will donate one dollar to a Wildlife Corridor in west Texas and New Mexico–see details below.  I will not designate a first, second or third place, but rather select the one finest post from each blogger.  How can I?  Each blogger has great posts and I’ll post the one I like the best–personal taste.

Why Choose the Prairie Sagebrush as Logo?

The Prairie Sagebrush is a native plant that is an important winter feed for Elk, Pronghorn and deer throughout the American West.  It is an edible herb and aromatic.  So many aspects of nature are associated with the American West and Southwest, but among the more prominent are sagebrush, antelope, deer, elk, buffalo, pines and the Rockies.  The sagebrush is imperiled–see my page on Sagebrush.

The Sensual Sagebrush

The Prairie Sagebrush and other varieties of sage provide one of the most sensual and pleasurable plants known to man: perfume, cooking and wildlife habitat.   The burning of sage in Native American ceremonies implores sanctification and purification as well as perfumed smoke about the room.  I used to burn sage in my fireplace and briefly close the flue to smoke-up the room.  I use sage in cooking, both chopped or whole leaves. Lewis and Clark reported that antelope would rub their foreheads on sagebrush for its perfumed scent.

I look forward to re-reading posts of 2009-2010, and putting together a collection for the Prairie Sagebrush Awards, June 27, 2010.  I’ve already started collecting and the blog posts are most outstanding!

Photographs of Prairie Sagebrush

Prairie Sagebrush No. 1 (Artemisia frigida) by Sally and Andy Wasowski

Prairie Sagebrush No. 2 by Sally and Andy Wasowski

Prairie Sagebrush No. 3 by Texas Agriculture Experiment Station

Wildlife Corridors

For every reader comment, Sage to Meadow Blog and Flying Hat Ranch will donate one dollar to Wildlife Corridor organizations in west Texas and New Mexico. (Limit is $500.00 and only one comment per reader counts.)  We need Wildlife Corridors so that migrations of beautiful animals may be seen by our grandchildren.

Leave a comment

Filed under Prairie Sagebrush Awards 2010

Leave a Reply

