Brush Fire High Salt Cove Creek

Two days ago, March 22, 2010, a brush fire raged out of control about four miles southwest of our place.  My estimation of the location from our place on Poprock Hill was near High Salt Cove Creek, 32.43 deg. N., 98.39 deg. W., Stephenville Quad map.

High Salt Cove Creek Fire, March 22, 2010 (click to enlarge)

Volunteer fire departments from Huckabay, Gordon and other small communities converged on the fire and extinguished the blaze late yesterday evening.  Despite recent snow and rain, last spring and summer’s growth of grass was dead and ignited.

The smoke colored the air a kind of amber about our home — not at all pleasant.

Cross Plains, Texas, Fire ca. 2007

Several years ago a huge fire broke out near Cross Plains, Texas, approximately seventy (70) miles southwest of Flying Hat.  Brenda and I were attending a funeral near Cisco, Texas, and the wind and smoke completely covered the western sky.  Several people were killed and the destruction obliterated sections of the community.  A firefighter at Cross Plains reported that the wind changed directions while the town burned and swept into neighborhoods that had been bypassed with the first sweep of fire.

It was also the same year that the huge prairie fire in the Texas Panhandle destroyed livestock and several hundred square miles of grassland.  Therefore, like any other community in the country, we are quite conscious of fire safety.

There are some good tips for making your country surroundings safe from the Texas Forest Service website below.

Texas Forest Service.

6 Comments

Filed under Flying Hat Ranch

6 responses to “Brush Fire High Salt Cove Creek

  1. John Caraway

    Jack, do you remember the huge fire around Albany/Baird in 1988, I have pictures somewhere if I can find them I will post them

    • No, John, I don’t remember that inferno. Do bring them up if you find them. By the way would you look at my edgier blog, Poprock Hill at Eleven Hundred,

      http://poprockhill.wordpress.com/

      and see if you can identify the grass that is in our front pasture that is on the banner for the blog? When it is alive, mature, it is reddish and blue, standing two-feet high, indicating Little Bluestem, but I am not sure. I don’t think it is Cheatgrass, but I’m not sure. If you can’t identify, that’s okay, because I’m going to perform a factor analysis as soon as I can — maybe a couple of weeks. If Cheatgrass, I am going to keep it shredded.

  2. Kittie Howard

    Before I forget, what is Cheatgrass? Jack, the clay balls above are exquisite. Once again, Nature provides the materials and with the help of your friends, others will see that what is before us is true beauty. I remember news reports of the fire you blogged about. It was horrible. You and Brenda are lucky…actually, I think the Force is with you…remember your trip last year to NM and the horrible road conditions? But part of the Force is that YOU know when to do what and how to live safely within Nature’s boundaries. I really enjoyed your blogs today (as always). A real treat. It’s been a rough week. My husband came down with a horrible sinus infection, some bug that’s going around, and ran a high temp. He slept in this multi-purpose room (and I hovered to check the fever, didn’t want to take any chances) where the computer is, so am now back with the keyboarding and hub’s now feeling fine, looking at the news, relaxing after a long day. Life goes on. But, Jack, I tried to Follow this blog but couldn’t. Can you insert a separate Follow button? Then I can pick this up separately. Should I drop The 27th Heart afterwards? Don’t want to lose you. Enjoy your evening! K.

    • Kittie, I want to make sure that my friends on The 27th Heart can easily follow me over here. Let me work on the technicalities and I’ll find something to make it connected. Also, I want to reply to your comment above with more detail. I should have a solution by tomorrow, if not by late this evening. Currently what I do is go down my blogroll here on Sage to Meadow and click on your blog and read and comment. Let me see what I can do. More later….

    • Kittie, Cheatgrass is a grass that spread from Asia along the American railroads in the 19th century. It grows quickly and then dies before most other grasses. Its shadow prevents more nutrient grasses from reaching maturity. Cattle and horses do not like it. It “cheats” other grasses of the ability to grow. Not a good thing. Oh, yes, last year and the blizzard. We are having our share of weather problems. So sorry to hear the bad week and your hub’s condition. He’s lucky to have you to help get over the infection. Fevers are dangerous. I’ve reread your post about connecting. I’ll look at the follow button and get back to you. No, we are not going to lose one another. –Jack

  3. The loss of life as the result of fire is definitely a sad report.

Leave a Reply

