Escape the Notion that Land is only Cropping Opportunity: Like Udall R.I.P.

Roger G. Kennedy, who was director of the National Park Service in the 1990s, said Mr. Udall “escaped the notion that all public land was essentially a cropping opportunity — the idea that if you cannot raise timber on it or take a deer off it, it wasn’t valuable.” On the other hand, Mr. Kennedy said, Mr. Udall understood that public lands like parks enhanced the economic value of privately held land nearby.

Stewart L. Udall, 90, Conservationist in Kennedy and Johnson Cabinets, Dies – Obituary (Obit) – NYTimes.com.

2 Comments

Filed under Life in Balance, Life Out of Balance

2 responses to “Escape the Notion that Land is only Cropping Opportunity: Like Udall R.I.P.

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog. I am so glad you did because your is one I’m adding to my blog roll. What a great find! I’m enjoying reading.

    • I’ve got you on my roll, too. I’ve been reading your posts. You go back to 2007! Like your quotes also that you include. Check out my horse pictures when you get a chance. I’m glad to find you and your blog. A good Texas blog to boot!

Leave a Reply

