Bluebonnet in Texas, March 16, 2010

[Please note that this post was published last year on March 16, 2010.  I have brought it to the front page since it is an anniversary of the bluebonnet.]

We toured to Fredericksburg, Texas, today for a two-day vacation.  This was the first bluebonnet (Lupinus texenis) I saw this spring.  No large fields, yet just one blossom.  It’s here, at least, a bluebonnet twixt Llano and Fredericksburg.

 

Texas Bluebonnet (click to enlarge) March 16, 2010, Twixt Llano and Fredericksburg, Texas

All the way down Highway 16, we had seen few signs of spring.  Winter still dominated the landscape and roadside.  One significant greening area was south of De Leon, Texas, where the trees showed green leaves beginning to sprout, but not full emergence.  That was along the River Sabanna.  Past Llano on Highway 16,we stopped beside the road for a rest.  As we paused, I saw this one bluebonnet and got the camera out.  About the time I started shooting photographs, cars and pickups whizzed by.  I stopped, then took several shots.  This shot was without a flash.  Just natural.  Shouldn’t it be that way?  Natural?  In springtime?  In America?

Oh, I think so.

12 Comments

Filed under Life in Balance

12 responses to “Bluebonnet in Texas, March 16, 2010

  1. I’m sure glad you found one Jack. I spent the weekend searching a little farther east and came back empty handed. Heading out to Junction, Mason and Llano next week for another look.

    Jeff

    • We were headed to Fredericksburg (I may have been misspelling this for ages) for a couple of days vacation and stopped for a Spanish pause. As I slowed down to stop, I saw this bluebonnet. It had been cold and rainy and wasn’t looking. My photos are more for the record and documentary. Not like yours and Evangeline’s. You do such good work. It takes experience to get the composition like you do. It’s a beautiful bluebonnet, isn’t it?

  2. I’m so envious. I love New Mexico (as you know), but I’m envious of bluebonnets – and honestly, can’t think of a place in New Mexico where they grow in any abundance. Happy Spring to you! I’m afraid we’re in for more winter weather before it’s all done. . .

  3. Randall Tate

    Jackie the Hill behind Mountian View lodge there at the lake in Bwood should be beautiful for our reunion.

  4. Delightful! How nice the two of you could take a little getaway time. I hear Fredericksburg is wonderful. Thanks for sharing the bluebonnet with us!

    • Hi Martie, yes, we got away a little bit. The rains have put Fredericksburg and the surrounds off the drought index. Last year it looked really bad. Now, all creeks flowing.

  5. Love the bluebonnet Jack. Had really hoped to see some when I made my trip to Sulpher Spings those few years ago. Arrived in spring too but no bluebonnets. Sure did see some other beauties though. Following some rain, Texas is really something. Beautiful. Glad you had a getaway!

    • We are still cool down here, so there’s no great bursting of wildflowers. Yet. It was just coincidental that we saw a few. We were not looking since it had been so cold. But, once we found that one after stopping, we saw a few more. You really had to concentrate to see the few of them. Sulpher Springs is beautiful.

  6. Texas Bluebonnets! Such a beautiful flower. Exactly what is its habit (open, dry, sandy soils)? Thanks.

    • Hi, Bill: The habitat is prairie, open field and roadside. It survives in dry conditions and can grow in a variety of soils: sandy loam to caliche and limestone chalky. Where I live we have a red lupine as well as blue. I have seen whole pastures full of these — wild. At the height of spring flower blooming, the Indian paintbrush, bluebonnets and others perfume the air. With the windows down on the pickup, traveling down the highway, you will be greeted with natural scents that make you smile and sigh. If you stop the car and get out, the smells come at you in waves. You have about a two-week window to taste the wild in central Texas. I’ve not traveled the highways like that in many years and I wonder if it is still pungent and wonderful as I remember it. I’m like that old Kiowa woman who wanted to see the bluestem and buffalo. I want it to still be there, but am afraid that it is gone, like many of my elders. Nonetheless, I want to try it again. Not this year, I think, but maybe next.

      I have read your last post on H2O and am thinking. It has so much in it and I have much to say. Loren Eiseley and his The Immense Journey is one of the greatest. I strive to reach his lower levels, but always fall short, but I keep trying. I think it is possible to correct bad habits, but doing it is not for the faint of heart. I am more of an activist to stop the destruction. Anyway, I’ll be writing to you on your blog soon.

      I’ve not been feeling well. Knee is bothering me if I overdo it and I seem to be overdoing it a lot.

      Here’s a link for the bluebonnet: The Bluebonnet.

Leave a Reply

