Sandhill Crane Higher and Faster

Sandhill Crane Above Flying Hat, March 14, 2010 (click to enlarge)

I’m sitting with Brenda out on the back porch thirty minutes ago and I hear the tuk-tuk of the Sandhill Crane.  I get the binoculars and camera, but I cannot see them in the sky.  The second flock comes by within five minutes and I snap the pictures above.

The Sandhill are flying fast with a east-southeast wind at their tails.  I estimate their ground speed may be 75-100 m.p.h.  I have to work fast.

I took pictures of a third large flock and then three stragglers (teenagers, most likely, sleeping late) soaring fast.  See the two pictures below.

Second Flock Sandhill Crane Above Flying Hat, March 14, 2010 (click to enlarge)

Three Sandhill Crane Above Flying Hat, March 14, 2010 (click to enlarge)

8 Comments

Filed under Sandhill Crane

8 responses to “Sandhill Crane Higher and Faster

  1. Jack, I can see them coming toward NM and flying over the bosque where I live. They are always a beautiful sight.

    • Evangeline, they are coming your way. I’ve not heard any more flocks and I’ve been out all afternoon long. So, from about 2:00 CDT, three flocks have come over. But, the sun hasn’t set yet. There may be more. They are a beautiful sight. What happened this afternoon was their altitude being higher and with the southeast wind they were going fast.

  2. kay

    I could smell the morning air at Water Valley just reading your blog.

    • Well, Kay, I thought you could sense those places, too. Water Valley. Now, there’s a post I can compose in the future, wouldn’t you say?

      For all of you that read comments, Kay is my cousin and we visited our kin in Water Valley, Texas, west of San Angelo. Ate tamales from a push cart vendor in San Angelo as we toured westward to meet our grandmother, Leatha Rose Morris.

      Thanks, Kay. See you soon, I hope.

  3. What amazing wing spans! Sending thanks to them for flying in multiple flocks with stragglers so the camera could be gotten. Tuk, Tuk. Have never seen a Sandhill Crane in person. A wonderful Sunday treat.

  4. Great catch on the photos!

Leave a Reply

