Fine Sentences February 14-20, 2010

These are some fine sentences from blogs I read during the week of February 14-20, 2010.  If a writer has not composed during the week, I do not make a selection.    As a general rule, I read the blogs listed here on Sage to Meadow and The 27th Heart, my other blog, and pick fine sentences.  The 27th Heart is almost identical to Sage to Meadow in content.  You can read the full posts of these fine sentences by clicking on my blogroll here on Sage to Meadow or The 27th Heart.

I’ve got to get out of here, if just for a little while. I’ve got to breathe some fresh air!  I headed for my room and got dressed in some warm clothes. Heavy socks, shirt, sweater over the shirt and breeches. Headed for the garage, found my riding boots, fingerless gloves and jacket, hopped into the car and took off for the barn. Now this might sound strange to some, but for me, this was therapy.  –Turquoise Moon, Daily Om, upon getting out of the house after the death of her husband.

I’m shifting, branching out into more modern art pieces. I’m not happy with the place I am right now, my work is not fulfilling me in the way I want it to and I’ve been increasingly frustrated.  –Katie Johnson Art, on going in a new direction in her painting.

Cerillos is the Yin to Madrid’s Yang, the definite shadow city on this trail of powerful contrasts. There’s a heaviness here. A quiet darkness.  –Kristy Sweetland, Stark Raving Zen, on photographing Cerillos, New Mexico, the Turquoise Trail.

She is not sitting around wondering if you’re going to make the right decision for her. She wants your comfort, your company, your love. Give her that — give yourself that — and the rest will follow.  –Coyote Crossing, Chris Clarke, on knowing when it’s time to put your dog, your companion, down.

We only ask that you help us to compete as honest as the horses we ride and in a manner as clean and pure as the wind that blows across this great land of ours. –Evangeline Chavez, Evangeline Art Photography, from “A Rodeo Cowboy’s Prayer.”

My grandparents married in 1912, and their love story is a blog post (or two or three) in and of itself, but my Grandma Ayres never let a day, if not an hour, go by without talking about how much she missed her husband, Frank, after he died.  He was born Benjamin Franklin Ayres, and he is buried next to his brother, Thomas Jefferson Ayres. –I Love New Mexico, Bunny Terry, on attending a funeral in Tucumcari.

At this, the factory hushed. I stood in silence while others awaited my answer. “Tell us your problem,” Yosi insisted. And, realizing that all of this factory work that helped support an entire kibbutz had come to a halt, I finally understood what a kibbutz was all about. An individual’s well-being trumped money made and money spent. For the unit was only as strong as the weakest link.  –Kittie Howard, The Block, on her laundry and losing weight at the Plason kibbutz.

This is really a nice escape on these grey winter days…and once again is stirring up my desire to visit the town in Mexico where my father’s family came from. Con tiempo.  –Taos Sunflower, Martie, on reading “Mexican Time,” a book on her nightstand.

I had arrived here, in the late fall of 2001, in a fog of emotions and with an empty gas tank. I had run out of gas, in every way, just before the first exit.  –Teresa Evangeline, on arriving in Santa Fe in 2001.

This section of the Pedernales River runs through one of the most prominent uplift regions of the Edwards Plateau resulting in stair-step waterfalls running for over a mile. –Jeff Lynch, on photographing the Pedernales River in Texas.

It caught my breath at the rise of the arched bridge. We, the mass of morning migratory workers, moved at procession speed, paying reverence to that glorious sight. A vivid sky painting lingering long enough to fill our vessels for the day ahead.  –Sea Mist and Sunsets, Chris Schutz, on the commute to work, crossing Puget Sound and the bridge.

9 Comments

Filed under Fine Sentences Series

9 responses to “Fine Sentences February 14-20, 2010

  1. Kittie Howard

    Jack, thank you for pulling us all together. And, I’ve got to go and pick up a blog I missed, a really good post from the sentence you gave. Thanks!

    • Kittie, that was a whale of story about the kibbutz. I nearly used that first day you worked with the garden as the fine sentences item, but the stopping of the whole factory to listen to an Americana and her problem, then the resolution…well, that did it. Fine, fine piece. If I had the time, I would take each of the fine sentences I put in the post and I would extrapolate them into short essays about all the resonances I hear in them. I’ve only done three of these Fine Sentence editions and every time I look at the finished product, I am literally gasping at the depth and scope of the writing. Some of these blogs (I think yours is one of them) are the first drafts of what need to be turned into books or essays, transmuted and distributed. I think people should write as if their life depended on it because the world does. And, there is that kind of writing I have been reading, here, in the blogosphere. Thanks, Kittie, and is it on to Louisiana now for you?

  2. Jack, This is such a nice way to bring us all together. It speaks of the “unit” Kittie wrote about. And, a fine unit it is. One of my favorite phrases of yours is, “Past the Dooley’s place, I heard a neighbor’s hound bay…”

  3. Teresa, Those excerpts pieced together turned out really good. I know if someone else had picked out sentences, they probably would have picked out different ones, but these last ones are real gems. Thank you for telling me your favorite phrase.

  4. Lynn

    Thanks Jack…This is also a great way to introduce new blogs to follow.
    Again, thanks!

  5. StarkRavingZen

    Jack, I just love Friday entries, with all of these great lines. And thank you for introducing me to other fabulous blogs to follow. Very grateful for you and your writing skills. You’re something to aspire to.

    Your Friend,
    Kristy

  6. You are a treasure Jack. I love reading and rereading your works; so beautifully written. And I appreciate the breadth of possibility you bring to what a blog can be and reflect. The Fine Sentences postings have become, for me, a beautiful way to transition from work to weekend. Those sentences send me down beautifully structured unknown roads, far removed from business writing. Yeah to that. This time yesterday I was writing a project initiation document, with difficulty. Where will that be in a hundred years or next week? Thanks so much for including me.

Leave a Reply

