Fog in Sims Valley

Grove and Fog, November 10, 2009, Flying Hat Horses, Texas
Photo by J. Matthews
Early Feeding in Fog, November 10, 2009, Flying Hat Horses, Texas
Photo by J. Matthews
November mornings in central West Texas bring surprises.  Yesterday, fog dropped down and obscured the distant hills and Cross Timbers Mountains from the back terrace of our ranch house.  We live in Sims Valley, about four miles south of Interstate 20, between Abilene and Fort Worth.  The road that goes into the grove in the photograph, “Early Feeding in Fog,” is one of several dirt roads used in the nineteenth century between Stephenville and Thurber, a coal mining town that supplied fuel for the railroads.  When a north wind blows, we can hear the locomotives whistling as they speed through Strawn, Mingus, and Gordon, three small villages north of Interstate 20.
The horses, Shiners Fannin Peppy and Stars Bars Moore, eat some alfalfa I have put in their tub.  This morning, November 11, the fog was so thick I could hear the horses nicker, but could not see them in the arena.  The fog lifted by 10:00 a.m.
[Annotation:  because I have the flu, I stayed home yesterday and today.  I put on my field jacket and hat to feed, quickly returning to the house to get the camera and take the photographs.  I am feeling better this evening and can probably go to work at half-speed tomorrow.  Besides, I need to see if the ducks are still quacking on the Baird Hill Pond, close to Abilene.  We have to get our priorities straight, don’t we?]
1 Comment

Filed under Flying Hat Ranch, Horses

One response to “Fog in Sims Valley

  1. Jack Matthews

    To make financial ends meet, I teach at a junior college in Abilene. Every Tuesday and Thursday I drive to Abilene and lecture in U.S. history and world civilization. On MWF, I work with students taking online courses from me. The drive to Abilene is 87.2 miles one way and I observe a lot of open spaces, including Baird Hill with the pond and ducks. I settled, we settled, out here for three reasons: (1) my wife teaches at Texas Wesleyan in Fort Worth and this place is in the middle between there and Abilene, (2) my parents (now deceased) lived in nearby Brownwood, Texas, and I could (did) take care of them, and (3) I wanted to return to full time rural living, as my past was always split between city and country.

Leave a Reply

