Rio de Pueblo

20130810-203305.jpg

As I traveled this week from Mingus, Texas, to Taos, New Mexico, I stopped in the Kit Carson National Forest, alongside the Flechado Day Campground that bordered the Rio Pueblo seen above. The water was cold, flowing, gurgling, clear.

Back home today at my ranchita in Texas, I filled water troughs with Barton Creek Coop water so that my last horse of the remuda I once husbanded can have water to drink in addition to the cow tank that is the lowest I have ever seen.

I placed cedar posts in all three of the water troughs–stable, corral, far field round trough–so that squirrels when they fall into the water while slacking their thirst can have something to climb onto and escape a watery grave.  Three squirrels have drowned in the stable water trough and a roadrunner was nearly drowned when I pulled him out several years ago.

Rio Pueblo, Barton Creek, and my water trough in the far field proffer life.  I accept the gift.  When the animals of this semi-arid region accept a gift of water, I can, at least, make sure that it is not their last benefit.

13 Comments

Filed under Salt Creek, Taos

13 responses to “Rio de Pueblo

  1. I absolutely Love that you thought of providing an escape for the thirsty squirrels. I’ve seen a few critters dead in my rain barrels and I’m always sad I didn’t find a way for them to escape. You’ve given me a great idea! Thank you!

    • Teresa, I was at the Peyton Wright Gallery last week while on research looking for Schleeter’s work and found they had about 25 paintings on file, but not displayed. I hope you have found a solution to the critter in the water that will be good. Mine, so far, as worked.

  2. How kind of you to consider them..

  3. What a beautiful photo. There’s nothing like “live water” – our bayous and bays can be lovely, but they tend toward stillness, especially in this “flat and glassy” season.

    You might know the work of Holly Near. She’s a marvelous musical talent. After much searching, I found one of her oldest compositions online. Every time I listen to this, my heart swells and I get tears in my eyes. It so beautifully captures the magic of water.

    “Water Come Down” by Holly Near

    Also, the post I have up now has an opening section that describes my experience of “saucering and blowing” with Grandpa.

    • Linda, it seems we overlap in a lot of our themes and topics. I will listen to Holly Near. I have been looking for exceptional music to apply in therapeutic situations. I am happy we overlap.

  4. And here we are in Missouri with a cool, wet summer including unusual late season floods. Have you read Craig Childs’ The Secret Knowledge of Water? A marvelous book about how the desert holds and moves water. I, too, am grateful for your kindness to the small wild ones. “When I was thirsty, you gave me to drink”. Thank you, Jack.

  5. What a great site you have sir. I admire this.
    ~~~Felicia

  6. I adore Aldo. I live in Santa Fe near Rancho de Las Golondrinas!
    I walk there often. It is a magical place. I see you linked to the site! Awesome. I am an archivist.
    ~~~Felicia

  7. Yes, Jack, water is a most precious and overlooked resource. So precious, in fact, that almost all life requires its presence. And while you live in part of the country that is water poor and quantity is an issue, the northeast has ample supply but water quality is an issue. The entire issue of fracking for gas is huge these days. It seems so unwise when people are willing to trade energy for clean water. Which do we need the most?

  8. Your thoughts and pictures are always insightful, Jack, with your great love and respect of Nature always present. Thank you for sharing with us!

Leave a Reply

