Soft Fascination: Easing Brain Fatigue With a Walk in the Park

The effects of walking in parks, green spaces, the outdoors, are listed here and backed by new scientific technology that registers such experiences.  Natural settings, i.e., parks and green spaces invoke “soft fascination,” a term for “quiet contemplation.”

When I lived in Amarillo, Texas, I walked in Ellwood Park near the Amarillo College campus, and often drove to Palo Duro Canyon State Park for relaxation and exercise.  My brain fatigue–never knew what that was–eased and I felt better after the walk in the park.

Read and apply the lessons of the article below when you have a chance for it describes life in balance.

Easing Brain Fatigue With a Walk in the Park – NYTimes.com.

9 Comments

Filed under Life in Balance

9 responses to “Soft Fascination: Easing Brain Fatigue With a Walk in the Park

  1. I confess I tire just a bit of all these new phrases for old experiences. There’s nothing wrong with “soft fascination”, but it does sound like a phrase invented by someone who’s just discovered what generations of people have known: that nature has healing properties.

    Brain fatigue’s a well-known phenomenon, of course. Even as a child I heard people use the expression, “my brain’s tired”, and we all know about The Grinch, who “puzzled and puzzled until his puzzler was sore”!

    One thing’s for sure. I’ve been far healthier in both body and mind since I began varnishing for a living. Being outdoors every day has real benefits, and it’s always easy to find creative stimulation outside work time – easier than it is for people who work indoors to get out for that walk.

    I’ll try to remember to come back and read the article. I’ve used up my ten free articles from the NYT for the month, and will have to wait until April to enjoy it. I can’t afford subscriptions to all these sites.

  2. Any one who has reveled in the natural world knows of its healing powers. That our culture has become so entrenched in the electronic world separating ourselves from nature is, perhaps, our greatest failing. There can be no ever lasting joy without nature. I find it funny that this is somehow a “discovery”. Shows how far off target we have gone.

  3. Last weekend my sister and I took our five grand children, ages 12 to 5, on a train ride to a park about 45mins away to spend the day. They took no electronics, toys or books. Two of the children have been diagnosed with ADHD and were not on any medication. The children enjoyed being children in a natural environment without all the other stimulus they are usually influenced by and can’t wait to go on another adventure outdoors. Outdoor ramblings work for children too.

    Thanks for the great article and the reminder that we all need to take a little walk outdoors every day.

  4. I don’t think I’ve ever heard the expression “brain fatigue.” But I’m certain I’ve experienced it. Just last evening I had it (brought on by the news from Boston and some unwelcome mail). So the wife and I went for a long walk outside. It was pleasant and it erased the brain fatigue.

  5. And also a great way to relieve the ever present Nature Deficit Disorder, which, I hope, will show up in the DSM someday.

Leave a Reply

