Winter lingers

In the late fall, my whole front field appeared as snow with these flowers.

In the late fall, my whole front field appeared as snow with these flowers.

Winter lingers in north Erath County, Texas.  Grasses remain brown, although buffalo grass emerges through dead grass of the late fall freeze.  My paint gelding, Star, has lost weight and his laminitis has remitted completely.

New neighbors, the Stroebels, have moved onto the land to the southeast.  The husband is an English teacher.  The wife is an engineer, originally from eastern Europe.  At the first instance, I like them.  They purchased the five acres mainly for the new stone house.

By my stated goal a few months ago, I have only a month or so before my photographing all flowers on my place comes to an end.  I know I have missed some flowers over the last eleven months, but I think I have captured many.  Some flowers, like the wine cup, did not unfold last spring so they fell outside my range, but not my thoughts.

 

18 Comments

Filed under Flowers of Flying Hat

18 responses to “Winter lingers

  1. So many things fall outside our range, but not our thoughts… I’ve been thinking of you, and it’s very nice to see this new post…

  2. What beautiful aster stems. They’re one of my favorites because they will linger so long. And now they’re coming back again, after an absence of only a month. They’re sturdy, as well as pretty.

    You might be interested to know that I’ve been exploring a new nature area about two miles from my place, tucked onto the backwash of Clear Creek. There are many birds, but more. The last time I went down to the mud flats after a rain I found fresh tracks – raccoon and possum, of course, deer, and bobcat. I’ll be a little more cautious in the future, and perhaps avoid late dusk wanderings!

    • I thought they were aster stems, but I did not look it up. So, there where you live, they are coming back! Oh, yes, I am interested in what you have seen. And, yes, be careful about the bobcat. Though shy, they’ve been known to attack. Last time I saw one was at Abilene State Park. So big was it that I heard it coming before I saw her cross my trail 50 feet ahead. Be careful. Thanks for commenting.

  3. Anonymous

    Hej Jack! It is so good to see you here again.
    It is a lovely post and such lovely flowers.
    Grethe ´)

  4. Anonymous

    Hej Jack. I don’t know why I’m called Anonymous!!
    Grethe

  5. Rubia

    The way you photographed the flowers against the wooden background is charming Jack. Excellent writing, as always, “so they fell outside my range, but not my thoughts.” Wow.

  6. kittiehoward@gmail.com

    It’s good to see you back up on the screen, Jack! Also nice to hear you’ve got lovely new neighbors.

  7. Thanks for the report on the year’s end coming up quick – ’twas a good goal you set for yourself. Knowing one’s own territory can fulfill like nothing else. Here’s to your discovery path – may it be long and not too dry.

  8. Keep up the good work studying your ranch Jack. Knowing every thing about it, plants, animals, fungi, geology, history, etc. enriches your enjoyment of this property that you seem to love so much! Another snow storm here today. You gotta love it to live here. Glad we are still having winter with all the climate change stuff not sure how long it will last!

    • Oh, I know you gotta love that weather. I am learning as much as I can about my place. Last year I brought up an old 1920s map that showed old roads, old schoolhouses, that I want to visit nearby. Thanks, Bill.

  9. http://edudemic.com/2013/03/the-10-skills-modern-teachers-must-have/

    sharing the above article with you — when I read the list, immediately thought of you, Prof. Jack.

Leave a Reply

